We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, cold showers, and clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Reviewed December 9, 2013

For starters - the facility doesn't appear to have an entrance of its own - you hand a left after leaving the highway and make your way through a maze of fast food and a mexican restaurant specializing in ribs (?). The front desk staff was friendly at check in and the process was organized and quick. The facility was amazingly clean and the work out room was easy to find. Breakfast was also good and included some wonderful cinnamon rolls. The poor rating comes from keys that didn't work - twice - a deadbolt that didn't work without jiggling the lock, and an unfortunate cold shower in the morning. And from the conversation at breakfast - the rest of the guests had the same unfortunate cold shower experience. The staff worked hard to compensate for any concerns but you can only bring people so many glasses of apple juice. The housekeeping staff should be complimented - the facility staff - not so sure.

Other notes - the bed was comfortable but the train passed by three times during the evening with whistle blowing - and I mean passed close by...

Room Tip: Avoid the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtilatheHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pikeville, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear AtilatheHun,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the issues you had with most of our amenities and the dissatisfaction you encountered with our service level. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 144 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

An incredibly clean hotel with comfortable sized rooms, several in-room amenities and a very friendly staff. A convenient to US-23 and US-460, but is a little difficult to find once off of the four lane. One of the cleanest Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in. Highly recommended if in the Pikeville area or travling along the Country Music Highway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chase G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pikeville, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thanks very much for the review. I am glad you enjoyed staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the staff was nice, but the internet would not work in our room at all. It would work in the lobby and breakfast area. The breakfast was very nice. There was a very good selection and variety. Also, read reviews about the pool, but it was in very good condition when we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monical1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Came to the Hatfield and McCoy Festival last month and stayed here. Theresa, manager, was excellent as was the staff. You can see the pride the staff has by the condition of the property. Excellent food and friendly people. We will be back.

David Prater
Kodak, TN

Room Tip: There are some road and train noises, but nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pikeville, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for your great comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

You'll never be treated any better than when you stay at this motel. The rooms are spotless, the staff is extremely helpful and cordial....definitely a home away from home. This is our third time staying here and we'll for sure be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hey2lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've stayed here 5 night over the last 2 years. It is a standard HIE, but for the options in he area it's the best place. There are plenty of restaurants available within a fair driving distance and a couple of restaurants off the parking lot in walking distance.
The only downside is parking. Not only does the lot fill up quickly, but it's difficult to get to from the Main Street (US 23 / S. Mayo Trail). You can see the hotel, but cannot pull into it. You need to pull onto a service drive that winds around and eventually gets you there. Can be confusing until you get used to it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkbucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had to make an overnight stop in Pikeville for business. The hotel is directly off the main road with fairly easy access. The hotel was clean. The staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was good. There were several restaurants very close to the hotel. It is a nice hotel in a convenient location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanndy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikeville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Hampton Inn Pikeville
#1 of 5 in Pikeville
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pikeville
19.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 5 in Prestonsburg
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
#3 of 5 in Prestonsburg
53 reviews
19.8 mi away
Brookshire Inn and Suites
Brookshire Inn and Suites
#5 of 5 in Prestonsburg
39 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pikeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pikeville

Address: 476 S Mayo Trl, Pikeville, KY 41501-1524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Pikeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Price Range: $107 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pikeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Pikeville Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary Express Start breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience with our new Smart Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravey, scrambled eggs, cheese omlets, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Pikeville, KY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. The official host hotel for East Kentucky Expo Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pikeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville Hotel Pikeville
Holiday Inn Pikeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing