We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Certificate of Excellence
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

One night business stay. If you are approaching this hotel from the west, be sure and turn right in before you reach the hotel and then take a sharp curve away from the hotel, follow the fence until it ends and then turn into what looks like a parking lot for a fast food place. Trust me, it is the entrance road. You will see a blood bank and head for it and you will reach the hotel. After you get to the hotel you will enjoy a nice property with friendly staff. Check-in was quick, the room was large and clean, and the bed comfortable for a good night's sleep. The hotel is on the river and you can walk down to the river edge. It made me wish for a fishing pole but not sure about license requirements and such. It also looked like a boat ramp but not sure if it was public of not. There are a few places to eat nearby but I took a ride into Pikeville and learned more about the Pikeville cut. Fascinating story about moving the mountain, filling in the river bed and creating 400 acres of land for Pikeville. An interesting place and a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
50
20
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am glad we chose to stay at the Holiday Inn. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. There are many food choices near the hotel. Yes it is close to the road and the railroad tracks and yes you can here the vehicles, however at night with the air conditioning unit running I was never disturbed by these.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaseballFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I thought the staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and large. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast of fresh pancakes, gravy & biscuits and hot cinnamon rolls. We will stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: My tip is not about the best room to choose, but about how to get into the hotel parking lot. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieDG143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We needed to travel to town for a Funeral. There was very limited selection, but we were familiar with the Holiday Inn. We were there for 2 nights and have no complaints. We checked in very late with no issues. There were some cookies waiting in the lobby for us. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was okay, but limited if you are vegetarian or vegan. Only issue was that the remote for the TV did not work. However, I didn't notify them to let them get a chance to fix. So, really that is fine.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Second time staying this past weekend. Second time my room with a king sized bed given away. The advise of the front desk clerk; call the hotel directly after making online reservation to ensure you get what you want. Hhhhmmmm good advise. The Internet means nothing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pikeville, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Steven C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Despite "free wifi" we struggled to get a decent signal in our room at the far end of the first floor away from the front desk. The water pressure was okay but the torn wallpaper from the old curtain rod and the tub spigot an inch from the wall were not. The bed was comfortable and very nice for a bed other than my own. The TV channels and remote didn't work well together and finding the weather channel, a must for most travelers, was a pain in the patoot. When we got to breakfast we really didn't expect much...and we got it. Plain predictable and totally typical carton eggs, microwave bacon and rubber biscuits. We wanted this stay to be more than it was but IHG let us down.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pikeville, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Steve M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room we had was very spacious, and clean. The mattress in the pullout couch though was uncomfortable. It had a weird slope to it, no matter what we tried to "even" it out. The pool was pretty gross. Even my daughter who is usually a water rat, was disgusted by it. Breakfast offered the typical scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, but the biscuits with gravy were actually pretty good. Every single staff member was awesome. Friendly and helpful. We'll probably try the Hampton Inn next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pikeville, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jeff W,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikeville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Hampton Inn Pikeville
#1 of 5 in Pikeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pikeville
19.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Prestonsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
18.5 mi away
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
#5 of 5 in Prestonsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
19.8 mi away
Brookshire Inn Prestonsburg
Brookshire Inn Prestonsburg
#3 of 5 in Prestonsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pikeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pikeville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
Address: 476 S Mayo Trl, Pikeville, KY 41501-1524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Pikeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pikeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Pikeville Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary Express Start breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience with our new Smart Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravey, scrambled eggs, cheese omlets, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Pikeville, KY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. The official host hotel for East Kentucky Expo Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pikeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville Hotel Pikeville
Holiday Inn Pikeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing