We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a sweet man and great memories”

Loretta Lynn's Birthplace - Butcher Hollow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of Loretta Lynn. When Loretta Lynn belted, "Well, I was born a coal miner's daughter/In a cabin on a hill in Butcher Hollow," it not only skyrockted "The Queen of Country Music" to additional fame outside the realm of country music fans, but it merited her the everlasting respect of every person connected directly or indirectly with coal mining or mountain life. Visit Butcher Hollow, located in scenic Johnson County. Loretta's brother, Herman Webb, is curator of the Butcher Hollow Home.
Chesnee, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a sweet man and great memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ended up going to visit this on the day we arrived in Paintsville -- it was the end of the day -- yet we were still greeted with a smile and accomodating young man at Webb's general store -- then we had the great opportunity to meet Herman - Loretta Lynn's brother -- he was so very nice.. he shared pieces of their family history with us...it was so great to have a chance to get a peek into the past of someone so many of us have listened to and come to "love" in the music world. How he took time to share tidbits about the area, the coal mines, along with his family history was so touching... I would recommend this visit to anyone... It doesn't take long -- it is not expensive -- but it can make some memories without a doubt.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STRASBURG
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Herman (Loretta's brother) was so super nice!!! I felt like I was part of the family while talking to him. I do wish there were more things to buy of Loretta's in the general store. I also wish people hadn't wrote all over the house. Maybe they could have a guest book???

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank devlinswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Guy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was a little hard to find and could use some more signing close to the cabin and general store. Five dollars well spent. The young guy at the general store was very rude and seemed like he could have cared less that we were there (only two people in the store) Herman Loretta's brother gave us the tour and was very kind and informative. Cute old cabin like it showed in the movie. If you go there you have to see it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paintsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home of The Coal-Miner's Daughter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Butcher Holler' located in Van Lear, Kentucky is a very remote area of Johnson County. You travel through an old coal town to reach the birthplace of The Coal-Miner's Daughter. The wooden house has been well maintained and those that give the tour are very knowledgeable of the life of Loretta Lynn. Her brother, Herman Webb, along with his family, still run the general store near the home place. Be sure to stop in, feel free to ask questions, and be sure to get your Moon Pie and RC cola ;)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

People are friendly museum in town is very nice and little general store was so cute. I do think when visiting the house to park at bottom of hill and walk up parking is limited and weekends are busy. Do not follow Garmin computer print off is best we ended up on the other side of he mountain but driving is easy all four lane up until turn off on Millers creek and then only about five miles not bad.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretta Lynn's Birthplace - Butcher Hollow also viewed

 

Been to Loretta Lynn's Birthplace - Butcher Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing