We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average overpriced food.”
Review of Max's Brick Oven

Max's Brick Oven
Ranked #13 of 200 Restaurants in Paducah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average overpriced food.”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Went the Friday before Christmas with a party of six. Of the six 2 got pizzas, 1 got the salmon, 1 got a ribeye sandwich, 1 a salad, and the last had the stuffed cannoloni. Pizzas were average and not hot, cannoloni was tiny for $17, salad was just average at $9. The salmon was exceptional and the ribeye sandwich was very good. There you have it, 2 of 6 dishes were remarkable, otherwise very average for too much money. Service was very good other than servers at station engaged in too much physical contact with each other, get a room! We live here but this was our last visit to Maxs'. Dissapointed too many times.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biggs313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    65
    15
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Metropolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“quality food”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Me and my husband dine here on speical occassions. I enjoy the brie appetizer. We have always had high quality food and service.

Helpful?
Thank jlcarter1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

we arrived with no reservation on Saturday and Max was packed = but the waitress found us a nice spot. the food is great and good value. If you look up to the ceiling you will find playing cards stuck to it. A regular guest is a magician and likes to do tricks with a pack of cards. He happened to be in the restaurant that evening and so we ended up with our "own" playing card against the ceiling - sweet!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mareku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My parents go there every week, but I only get back into town every two years. I get the florentine pizza with extra garlic, always spot on. My parents are quite picky, my mom being a vegan and my dad not liking any spice. They always manage to get thier orders correct. We had Laura as a server and she was excellent both times we were there.
The bar is well stocked, with a good bartender, pouring very generously, for those who appreciate it.
Always good every time I come.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdw3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
“delightful anniversary celebration”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We enjoyed a casual, quality meal with a great choice of drinks in a rustic setting. This is a delightful surprise in downtown Paducah, KY near the meeting of the Ohio and Tn rivers.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midge0452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Brick Oven also viewed

 

Been to Max's Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing