We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway!”
Review of Elk Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk Creek Lodge
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge and enjoyed the beautiful views and great service. There was a problem with our first room and Vickie took care of us and was very apologetic even though it was something that she could not have prevented. We really enjoyed the Winery and customer service was superb, especially Felecia and Becky!!! We will return and recommend to our friends. I believe the fall timeframe would be a great time to visit.

Room Tip: If traveling there during hot weather, ask about air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a small (10 people) corporate 2 day meeting at the lodge and really enjoyed it. The lodge is comfortable and reasonably clean and the winery restaurant is above average. I wouldn't recommend the food at the Hunt Club although we had a great time shooting sporting clays. The grounds are nice and the location is definitely country. The only complaint was the air conditioning...inadequate for the one hot day we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Estates at Elk Creek and had a great time. The view is amazing - quiet and peaceful. The 1st night was a Sunday and we had the place to ourselves except for one other couple. Next night was full - but still quiet enough and enjoyed a fire in the fire pit. The winery is beautiful and offer some very tasty wines - breakfast there was typical continental breakfast. People were very nice to deal with. We will definitely return for another getaway soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajcgocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We used the Groupon deal for one night at the Lodge. The Winery itself wasn't too hard to find but the Lodge isn't clearly marked from the road. You'll want to use the same driveway as the Hunt Club. First off, the scenery is beautiful here. And the Winery has a nice charm to it. We went on a Monday afternoon so there weren't many people there. But the person running the wine tastings was very nice, attentive, and knowledgeable. Some wines were good and some were just okay. Nothing too memorable. It would be nice if they waived the tasting fee if you purchases some bottles. The winery closes at 7pm and food options are limited in the area, so we picked up a few things from the Winery's deli (which closes at 6) before we went to our room in the Lodge for the night.

As for the Lodge, it is mostly made of wood and sound travels throughout pretty easily, which meant you could hear people talking downstairs. Though after nighttime everyone seemed to be quiet so the noise didn't affect us. Though if a loud group came in it might be a problem. There's a finished basement with a big screen TV and a run-down pool table. The room was pleasant, the bed was very comfortable, and everything was clean. However for breakfast you have to go back to the winery (a short 1 minute drive or 10 minute walk down and up a very steep valley). On our visit the person who was supposed to prepare breakfast never showed up, so we never got our breakfast. Eventually the manager came down to explain the situation and apologize and have someone start breakfast, but we had to leave for our next destination. Also there are no employees on site after 7pm or before 10am as far as I can tell. This place has a lot of potential but lodging seems to be more of an afterthought for them. A few improvements on their hospitality skills and this place would be a great overnight destination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Three couples stayed at the Inn. We were looking forward to sharing the house and enjoying the property. We stayed during high heat and humidity. Amenities included air conditioning, wi fi, and gas grill. We had problems with all three and found the manager to be rude and demeaning. The house was extremely hot; outside provided more comfort. The grill had an empty tank of gas and we were unable to use our ipads. We were sent to a Ramada twenty miles away the first night and were promised to have a cool house by the next evening. There was a bit of improvement but still not functioning properly.
We were pleased to receive an inquiry from the owner who did provide some compensation. We hope that either things are fixed or that advertisement (amenities) are more honest. This could be a nice place to stay, but I won't return.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I did a groupon as well and loved it! The staff was friendly, and the winery was in a serene country setting. The only draw backs were not in Elk Creeks control. First, if you arrive at night and use google maps, it takes you to a woman's house, not the lodge. (Lodge is behind hunt club.). As nothing else is nearby for lighting, it took us a few minutes to find it. Also, it is a very peaceful setting as intended by Elk Creek. If you read about Elk Creek, they tell you that there are limited dining options close. However, we were fine with that and there is a shared fridge/kitchen at the lodge if you choose to bring your own food.
Overall, it was a great winery with exceptionally friendly staff, and I look forward to going back on a groupon or at full rate...it is definitely a great getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmckinney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed only one night wishing we had stayed 2. We had a lovely king room on the first floor of the lodge with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. Lovely huge room. We went to the winery and spent a really nice afternoon tasting wine. We meet a young couple who were only stopping to wine taste, and we shared our cheese plate with them. Order some dinner from the cafe for later. When we went to pay the young couple had paid for our wine flights. If you read this thank you so much.
Had a simple breakfast the next morning that was supplied.
This place is so beautiful and staying in the lodge is a must.

Paul and Claire Levesque Melbourne Beach Fl

Room Tip: Stay in the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairel285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Creek Lodge

Address: 150 Highway 330, Owenton, KY 40359-9237
Location: United States > Kentucky > Owenton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Owenton
Price Range: $164 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Elk Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Creek Hotel Owenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing