We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway”
Review of Elk Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk Creek Lodge
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Purchased Groupon package for one night stay. We received free cheese and cracker and $20 voucher toward wine as well as free continental breakfast. Wine was very good, we did a testing which included 5 wines for $8 dollars a person. They had live entertainment on Friday night at the Elk Creek Cafe, reasonably priced sandwiches and salads. The only downside was it closed at 9:00p.m. We stayed in the Estates, queen room with an awesome shower that was absolutely HUGE! Our room faced the road so I would recommend getting a rom on the other side that faced the vineyard. Overall room was very nice, hardwood floors, tile shower, nice sink, no bathtub, flat screen TV. Continental breakfast was good, cereal, oatmeal, homemade waffles, yogurt, fruit, juice, milk, coffee, muffins, bagels, etc...Service at breakfast and dinner was very good, staff was friendly. We would go back again but would shoot for the summer when the weather is better.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dledwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    13
    16
    3
See reviews for
3
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We purchased a groupon and enjoyed the visit. The lodge and vineyard were nice, clean , we'll kept. There was massage sessions offered in the lodge, well worth the price.

For the men there is sporting clays on site. Pricing was reasonable on everything.

Dry county so make arrangements for alcohol .

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful lodge on a beautiful property, this was just what I was looking for! It really is more like a bed and breakfast than anything. The staff is very nice and helpful, and the accommodations are great. The bed was SO comfy! The winery tour was brief, but informative. No complaints, really. Just a nice place to stay well away from the hustle and bustle of the world.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cooperll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We purchased a coupon through AAA and decided to use it for our anniversary which happened to be on a Wednesday. We stayed in room 3 of the lodge. The room itself was nice with a queen sized bed, a dresser, television, chair, and a private bathroom. There are common areas of the lodge to be shared by guests including a few different seating areas, two large screen televisions and a pool table in the basement.

On our arrival we were given a card to take to the winery for a complimentary cheese tray and wine tasting (we were informed that gratuity was not included by our hostess at the beginning of the tasting). We enjoyed the tasting very much and used the opportunity to buy a bottle of wine for dinner. The best part of the evening was our meal at the hunt club. We made advance reservations and both had the filet. The meal was wonderful.

Our only complaint was the noise level of the lodge. The floors are hardwood and sound traveled easily through the walls. You could hear the shooting outside but not in the rooms. There were also some mysterious loud crashing noises in the middle of the night that woke us up so we didn't get the best night's sleep.

As others have stated, there isn't much to do there on a weeknight. They have music on the weekends and if we go back we would make sure to plan a weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We used a Groupon deal to stay at the Elk Creek Vineyards in the Lodge. As you explore their website you’ll discover that there are 3 distinct lodging options here. We were in a Queen room (#4) in the Lodge which was on the 2nd floor with a nice balcony and view. There are no chairs to utilize the balcony, however. We traveled with another couple and stayed on a Tuesday evening. We enjoyed lunch and a bottle of wine outside the winery on their patio deck. There is a deli that makes up lunch sandwiches at the winery. We next enjoyed the wine tasting. Rebecca was an accommodating host and the cheese plate that came with the tasting was generous. We checked into the Lodge and were impressed with the building. This is sort of a non-hosted B&B. No one takes you around the Lodge or shows you to your room. You are left completely on your own. Our rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Lights are not turned on in any of the common rooms. The evening we were there all 6 rooms were booked. I could see how this could be a bit awkward if some couples are watching a game on the big screen TV in the living room or playing pool in the Safari Room and you wanted to sit and read a book. I did find that conversation noise traveled throughout the Lodge. While this was not an issue for us, it may be for some. The sound of guns shooting clays is a constant on the property. The Lodge would be ideal if you had 6 couples to rent it out together, either for a retreat, reunion, or celebration. There are no local dining options for dinner, but we were referred to Jewells on Main which is about a 30 min. drive to Warsaw, KY. Food here was delicious. Breakfast the following morning required a walk across the property back to the winery. There is simple spread of muffins, cereal, oatmeal and waffles available. In sum, we enjoyed our stay, but do not visit here for any “action”. Bring some of your own refreshments. You can use the kitchen refrigerator (but not the stove, unless you book the entire Lodge). You’ll need to get in your car and drive a bit to eat dinner. There just isn’t much near Owenton. If you end up driving into Frankfort/Midway/Lexington you may as well stay in a place closer to those towns. Wine tasting and self serve breakfast and deli counter personnel appreciate/expect tips. After breakfast and walking around a bit we pretty much packed and left to come home since there wasn’t anything left “to do.” We tried to think of something interesting to stop at on the way home north to Cincinnati and came up blank on that, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our daughters got the Groupon for us, excluded Saturdays and Sundays. By the time we called, Fridays were booked, so we chose a Thursday. We got to the winery at 2PM and did our wine tasting. We enjoyed their wines, a little pricey but not out the norm. At 4PM we checked into the Lodge, very nice. BUT very noisy with the wood floors, our room was above the kitchen and it was like we were standing next to them, hearing word for word. Then we went back to the winery for our cheese and crackers (part of the Groupon) and sandwiches. Lots of very good cheese and sandwiches were good.
By that time, the shooting had stopped. By 9AM, they were back shooting. It seemed like it never stopped!!! I wish I would have know about that - a lot of shooting for a Thursday and Friday.
Breakfast was good: waffles, bagels, muffins, cereal, bananas, nice lady.
Nice setting.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Lodge, take an upper room because of the noisy floors. If you are going to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Long-Live-Ty-Cobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were given a gift - two nights at Elk Creek Vineyards in Owenton, KY - about half way between Cincinnati & Lexington Ky. There are at least 3 properties with lodging. We stayed at the Elk Creek Inn - a 3 bedroom home with two baths - Upstairs rooms share a bath. Large living/dining area - would be fun with 3 couples who are friends. The lodge is lovely - entire lodge was rented for a wedding.


We arrived first night after dinner and had the living room to ourselves. Breakfast is provided at the Vineyard - waffles, or continental breakfast. Deli at same location sells sandwiches, soup, salad all day. No tours of vineyard. Winery tour 9 am - 3. Rooms come with either a wine tasting or in our case a cheese tray and $20 towards a bottle of wine.

The surprise of the trip was dinner at the Hunt Club. Reservations 72 hours in advance from menu posted on line. The Mahi-Mahi was the BEST I've ever tasted - mouthwatering delicious. We were the ONLY guests on a Friday night.

What to do? We enjoyed the drive through old part of Frankfort, and distillery tours - Buffalo Trace (free) & Woodford Reserve ($10). Go on a weekday.

The Hunt Club is a destination for shooting clay pidgeons. Large corporate event during the day - all left in the evening.

Check internet for concert schedule - Dry county - no wine served on Sundays. Make arrangements for late arrival as no staff on property after 6 pm.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polka-Dot-Umbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owenton
14.2 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 3 in Williamstown
104 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
#1 of 4 in Dry Ridge
453 reviews
16.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dry Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
20.3 mi away
Days Inn Georgetown-North Of Lexington
14.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Williamstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Creek Lodge

Property: Elk Creek Lodge
Address: 150 Highway 330, Owenton, KY 40359-9237
Location: United States > Kentucky > Owenton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Owenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Elk Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Creek Hotel Owenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing