We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place tp stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Owensboro South
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Owensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place tp stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a nice hotel, easy access with great Hampton beds and clean linens. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was OK. Hampton is worth a little extra cost since they provide a little extra in return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    92
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
124
48
17
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here last week with my wife and 15 month olddaughter and could not be more pleased with our stay. We arrived late after a long day of driving and were quickly checked into our room. We booked a suite so that we could have more space for the crib, etc. and the room was perfect. The only flaw we found was some minor damage on the ceiling in the bathroom, otherwise it was very nice. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast feautured a nice array of choices, and the breakfast room was spacious and comfortable.
The property is off the beaten path but has a few unique features, it has an outdoor pool and putting green. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.
The staff at the front desk even mailed us a thank you card for staying that we received when we got home. We have stayed at hundreds of hotels worldwide and never had this happen before, what a nice touch!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, NC
Level Contributor
322 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Hampton Inn has been undergoing a refresh and looks great! The rooms were large and well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The Internet connectivity was fine. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to help. The breakfast was also very good.

My issue with this Hampton Inn is that it is in a very busy location....yes, a positive for many folk who want to be near fast food and lots of shopping, but a hassle to deal with all the traffic and noise.

They do need one more renovation in the rooms...They need to upgrade the heating/cooling systems. They are the old fashioned variety without a thermostat to provide uniform temperature control. The newer systems also allow for the fan to run continuously, thus cutting out some of the traffic noise in the halls and outside the hotel. While this may not bother some folk, our sleep was interrupted several times by noise that the fan may have covered up.

Overall, the positives out-way the negatives enough to allow me to rate this property a 4/5. They can't do a thing about the location, traffic or noise. However, as soon as they upgrade the temperature system, some of the noise and the overall comfort of the rooms will help the visitor forget about the outside world.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor, away from the elevators, and facing the front of the hotel. There is a major h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nicely located property, very modern and up to date. Quite frankly it looks almost brand new. Typical Hampton room, with a excellent breakfast selection. For those of us fitness freeks, their fitness room is one of the best I have ever seen. All brand new Precor equipment ......nice staff, great stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 220ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Hotel is located near mall and other shopping. The hotel itself is on an acess road away from traffic, but surrounded by out-of-business and industrial buildings. Not good if you like to walk in the evening.

Staff was really the win here. Excellent attention to detail and always friendly. If it weren't for the staff I would have rated the hotel poor.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator and ice machines. Also first floor rooms must allow smoking because hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed for one night while visiting family - and the hotel staff was friendly and welcoming! Room was clean and comfortable. Good stuff and many choices for breakfast. Good value.

Location? It's out on a commercial strip with many dining options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is just your typical Hampton Inn. Good service, free breakfast, and decent rooms. Having said that, when I stayed in Owensboro, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Good price and a pretty good location with fast food all around.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwrichtetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Owensboro hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Owensboro/Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Owensboro
Courtyard Owensboro
#5 of 13 in Owensboro
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Owensboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Owensboro Dwtn - Ohio River
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 13 in Owensboro
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wingfield Inn & Suites
Wingfield Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Owensboro
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Owensboro South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Owensboro South

Property: Hampton Inn Owensboro South
Address: 615 Salem Dr, Owensboro, KY 42303-7729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Owensboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Owensboro
#1 Best Value Hotel in Owensboro
#2 Family Hotel in Owensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Owensboro South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Owensboro South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Owensboro
Owensboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing