We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, meh service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lure Seafood And Grille

Lure Seafood And Grille
Ranked #24 of 159 Restaurants in Owensboro
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, meh service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went there - for the first time - right after a menu change. Not sure what's so hard about pulling the old menus and replacing them with new ones....they're just printed on heavy card stock, after all....but this had somehow slipped past the staff and all kinds of confusion ensued. The waitress seemed to feel this was somehow our fault. The tenderloin tips were good and the mahi mahi was fine but not spectacular. Nice view and good ambience. We will return but....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    23
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I am very picky when it comes to my food. The atmosphere was great, we sat upstairs, but the service was slow at best. I really wanted shrimp and grits, but was told the menu had just changed so no go. The prices seemed very steep and there was not any mid priced fares on their menu. My daughter ordered the lobster bisque, she said was yummy and the crab salad which she said was great as well, husband had sushi which looked great. I ordered the mahi mahi and it was good, however half way through it was raw. I mentioned this to the waitress and I got an whatever type of attitude. We were tired and didn't feel like driving so that's why we ended up here, but next time we are visiting, we will not be dining here. $167 with tip for 5.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place for Sunday after Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We finally caught up with Chef Gil again. He is doing his omelet bar on Sundays after church. The man knows how to make a mean omelet. It reminds me of being back on the cruise ship.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank decaydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Brand new, so a few little bugs (figuratively) yet. But the food is quite good, menu interesting, and the setting is ideal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasapayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I went expecting to leave feeling like I had overpaid for decent food. Instead I left feeling like I had an excellent meal and would love to come back! Yes, it is expensive, but both entrees we had were outstanding - mahi mahi and ahi tuna - and worth the expense. The room is loud, as stated in previous reviews, so if you are with a group and want to talk ask to be seated near the entrance to the hotel. It seemed much quieter there. There was live music tonight (we were there on a Thursday night) that was quite enjoyable. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you're looking for great seafood in Owensboro!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueZet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lure Seafood And Grille also viewed

 

Been to Lure Seafood And Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing