We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New restaurant needs fine tuning”

Lure Seafood And Grille
Ranked #31 of 162 Restaurants in Owensboro
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“New restaurant needs fine tuning”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Food: Excellent. Wonderful sashimi. Perfect fillet mignon. Delicious sautéed spinach. Service: Attentive server. Busboy was not adequately trained. He asked to take my plate before I finished eating. A short time later he interrupted conversation to ask to take away other dishes. Checks are presented on a computer tablet, which I detest, as server hovers over you as you check accuracy of tab and decide on tip. Atmosphere: Visually attractive and upscale, unique for Owensboro. However, on a Friday evening with restaurant full, it was so noisy as to make conversation difficult. On top of that, music was loud. I suggest some noise reduction insulation be added. Value: Food is worth the price (high by local standards), but atmosphere is not. I will eat there again, but won't be rushing back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkLover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    24
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“new restaurant”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This restaurant is intended to be pricey in the evening. The fish is all imported from Hawaii and Australia as far as I know. Sesame Ahi Tuna was awesome, but I could have done without the sides. Broccoli raw was way over seasoned with pepper and the Jasmine Rice is not real Jasmine rice. It is just overly steamed rice and named Jasmine because of the chef's daughter. Even the beer mac n cheese is just ok. They use penne pasta. The bar tenders make great drinks. Not like the kind of drinks you get at the bar where the unfortunate population lingers, but nice classy drinks such as Old fashion and a traditional whiskey sour using egg whites and bitters. The menu will change after the first quarter, so hopefully out of the pros and cons of the current menu are shared, it will be revised and better. If you don't like something, Ben Skiatis is very nice and truly takes feedback to heart and into effect. They want it to be the hot spot downtown, so whatever it takes to make it the best, they are willing to do it. Lunch is less pricey. kitchen closed between 2:30 and 4.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidhoff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I'm hooked on Lure!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Wow! Ambiance, great menu, great cucumber martini,(Thanks Ben!) attention to detail, great service, and very friendly staff. We discovered that this is one of the few places nowadays that still truly serves the customer and will do whatever they can to accommodate any requests. We started with cocktails at the bar, and were a little indecisive as to what we wanted, so Ben recommended a cucumber martini! I know what you're thinking; but if you've never had one, you're in for a treat! Don't tell them, but the 6 oz. fillet is really about 10 oz. Cooked to perfection. Alex, our waiter was very attentive. Unless you want BBQ, this is the BEST restaurant in Owensboro, and I'm hard to please. I believe in GREAT service, atmosphere, and value. Lure has all of this and the location. Great for a date, meeting, or just a night on the town in a stylish, relaxed atmosphere. Personalized service at its best... We will definitely be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Delicious steaks but pricey. Our server must have been new at waiting on tables, she was nervous and appeared uninformed of the menu

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“River Front Dining”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I was staying at the Hampton Inn downtown and had the opportunity to eat here twice. Everything was very good. I really enjoyed the house salad each time and had the Filet (which was a great size), Crabcakes and Beer Mac & Cheese. The servers are very friendly and attentive. Going forward every time I come to Owensboro this will be a mainstay.

Helpful?
Thank GLB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lure Seafood And Grille also viewed

 

Been to Lure Seafood And Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing