We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must See Park, You will Not be Disappointed!”
Review of Smothers Park

Smothers Park
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Owensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Must See Park, You will Not be Disappointed!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The new updated park is must see for any family. Smothers Park overlooks the Ohio River. Children can be entertained for hours on the walk paths, climbing, swings, or the fountain. The actual park extends from the River Park Center down Veterans Blvd to the new convention center. The best time to visit the park is during warm weather.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    49
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“locals and tourist alike can enjoy this”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

living here locally I can appreciate the money the City has invested in the riverfront. It is wonderful for kids and if you just want to set and watch the river it is relaxing as well. When it is warm you can watch the water fountains do their water shows. There is also couple of upscale hotels being built by the park, entertainment area's and a convention center. Close to the park is local places to eat that you can walk to.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mommabell
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The new Smothers Park/Riverfront area captures the true essence of Owensboro - a great place to gather and be with friends, enjoy the river, the sights and sounds of children in the play area, the piano and a very heartfelt gratitude to its sons and daughters who have served our country. The fountains are both exciting and relaxing. Wish we had this sort of venue back in the day of the Regatta - it would have been a wonderful experience for so many!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“International BBQ Festival”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I attended the International BBQ Festival in Owensboro, KY, just steps away from the Riverfront Park. I was blown away by the size of the festival and my girlfriend (who lives there) was able to give me a close up look of the entire festival from a hometown point of view. I sampled as much of the BBQ as I could get to and it was not a disappointment at all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JoJeJohn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice and new”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

During our down time in Owensboro we came down to the riverfront area just to waste time and the weather was good so we walked around and the area is brand new and very nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smothers Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing