We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is okay, but food is great”

The Briarpatch Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 160 Restaurants in Owensboro
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service is okay, but food is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you like salad they have a huge salad bar. The twice baked potato is delicious. I love the bean soup. Good food for a good price. The loaf of bread they bring is baked fresh and is super soft.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosepetals818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Soup and Salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Best soup and salad bar in town for a healthy selection for lunch. The price is great,and the selection is wonderful and fresh.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, KY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Salad Bar - Steak ???”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a unique Steak House where you should go for their Soup & Salad and skip the steak. The salad bar has 50+ items including unique items like Sardines and Dirt Cake. Their soup selections always contains Hoppin-John. Good service always. By the way the steaks are OK but just don't have much flavor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi
Level Contributor
465 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Friendly, Good Salad Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Briarpatch is one of the few "good" family style restaurants open on a Sunday evening and the restaurant was full. Fare for every predilection, with an emphasis on steaks and a full salad bar. I had a mix of tri-tips, filet mignonette, and sirloin. I was a little disappointed in the tri tips as they were a little gristly with a marinade after taste, but the filet was outstanding. $19 main course with baked potatoe, home made bread and salad bar. Plenty of room for large parties.

Fair wine list and very attentive wait staff. Would not hesitate to come here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I visited with a party of six. I had the Polynesian tuna but everyone else had steaks. We were all pleased with our meals. The salad bar is great with lots of choices. Some of us had dessert. The Derby pie is--- ummmm so good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Briarpatch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Briarpatch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing