We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location.”

The Miller House Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 160 Restaurants in Owensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The setting for the restaurant is nice. The food is typically consistent - not remarkable, but the ambiance brings it up a notch. Sitting on the porch is a delight, but a visit to the basement bar is a must.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 7SXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    41
    9
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
owensboro, ky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've only had their brunch, but if it's any indication of their regular menu I'm impressed. The place is beautiful, the food is great and presentation is impeccable. Still they maintain a casual feel to this stately house turned restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JOEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor Service - again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We really like to support our local restaurants and were excited when Miller House opened. We have eaten there on numerous occasions but usually come away thinking, we won't be back. But then we go back again.
Ate there last night because we do like the atmosphere, although, very loud, and it's somewhere else to eat out. Our table was a flip table between two servers and neither approached us for at least 10 minutes - almost left. Had to keep asking for water refills.
Had to ask for the drink menu as one wasn't left with us.
Food was good

Everytime we go there seems to be some problem...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank 270kentuckywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
386 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great fried green tomatoes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Food is much better than it used to be. Fried green tomato appetizer is wonderful. Inside it can get a bit loud in dining areas due to wood flooring. Difficult to have a quiet conversation during lunchtime. Very pleasing colors used throughout the house.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BudNLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Service doesn't match food quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had the flounder entree, which was excellent. The Caesar salad dressing was the best in memory. Main entrees are pricey by Owensboro standards, but house liquor drink price was very reasonable. As on past visits, service was not up to expectations. Our server acted as host, table wiper (after we were seated), bartender, bar glass washer and busboy. We had to ask for rolls, which were supposed to come with dinner. Under the circumstances, he did a great job. However, a well-managed restaurant would not require one person to fill so many roles.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ParkLover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Miller House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Miller House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing