We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
57
47
18
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
47
18
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful park horseback riding welcome center gem mining growing up balcony overlooking shower restroom putt putt golf great weekend natural bridge lodge pioneer fireplace roomy
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 138 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Yesterday we went on the Cascade waterfall tour. We had such a wonderful tour guide!! He was easy going, knowledgeable and friendly. We think his name was Brandon. The cave formations were so neat! The paths through the caves were easy to walk on and well maintained. The price was affordable as well. We would definitely return in the future!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank PennsylvaniaReah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Thank you for your post and most of all for your visit. We will be sure to share your post with the guide. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

The Welcome Center is very nice, but the rest of the park needs a little updating. We stayed in the lodge. The A/C in the room could have been better. The door to the balcony had an area where bugs could get through and the ash tray on the balcony still had cigarette butts from a previous occupant. The food in the lodge was good, but they were under-staffed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvRoadTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Experience was outstanding. Lots of fun with kids. Camp ground was fun, hiking paths are clear and clean, caves were great for any experience. Place is gorges. Hope to be back again. FYI there is no stores that are close so bring everything you need.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank lrm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Thank you for your post and most of all for your visit. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

We have been camping here for the past 8 years and I would have rated 5 star because we love everything about the park however the past 3 years were water problems, this year being the worst. NO water at times and then when there was water the pressure was so low it was only a dribble. Their excuse was they were filling the pool, to a paying guest for full hook-up this is no excuse. The pool should be on a different water line. I bet the lodge was not without water. Sadly, we will not be returning until the water situation is resolved.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Yes the water issue is a problem. It was in regards to filling the pool and we will look at alternatives on filling the pool in the future. Maybe do it during the night when the demand for water is low. Again we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2018

they turn off the water at the campground almost every day ....DONT stray here it will just get your blood pressure up. they say I dont know a lot and the rangers make false promises...it will be back on by 4.......never again this trip has been a disaster

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
2  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

We do not turn the water off in the campground. When we are preparing the pool to open yes we do have low water pressure in the campground. Unfortunately that is an issue we have with our infrastructure. We apologize for that. However that is one time a year we fill the pool. Everything should be fine now. If someone told you that you don't know a lot then forward me their name and I will address that with them, but I can not see a staff member telling any of our guests that they don't know anything. Sorry your stay was not your satisfaction. We do try our best to make everyones visit a good one but there are times we need to do some park maintenance issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews