We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carter Caves State Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olive Hill
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As with all of the KY parks that we have visited, this is a nice place. The campground was packed but quiet. The cave tours were excellent. The haunted trail along the campground was very well done, and very crowded. There is nothing to do in the area around the park. But there is plenty to do in the park. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHayes818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your post and than you most of all for visiting Carter Caves. We look forward to serving you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Carter Caves State Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our family vacation at Carter Caves State Park, KY! Great scenery, great trails! Lodge was nice, too! Would recommend for an affordable, family getaway. We will definitely return! The hiking trails were amazing with great rock formations and cave entrances. They even have multipurpose trails for biking and horses and horse stables. A great find!

Room Tip: All rooms are equivalent.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent trip. We hope you come back and see again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Carter Caves is an amazing gem in Kentucky. The hikes, both short and long, never disappoint. The trails are clearly marked with blazes and offer quite the scenery. However, the campground was once again a major disappointment. As in our last trip several months ago, the "quiet hours" were not enforced. A couple, camped out in the center section of the primitive sites, blasted country music from their arrival until the point when they woke up at 7am. All night. My husband and I have camped at several state and national park campgrounds and have never encountered these sort of noise issues. If quiet hours are going to be posted, please attempt to enforce them. The noise issue was so bad that were were at the point where if we had a cell signal at the campground we would have called the police. We had to cut our trip short as we were running on nearly zero sleep. We understand that one "bad egg" can ruin it for everyone but this has been a repeated issue at this campground. We will return to the park as it has quickly become one of our favorites in Kentucky but will be looking at alternative camping/housing locations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

First off THANK YOU for returning to the park and THANK YOU for sharing the comments with me. I have directed these comments to the appropriate staff and have instructed them this needs to be checked into immediately. I'm sorry your trip was cut short and I hope on your next visit things will be better.

Thank you for choosing Carter Caves and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our group of 30 stayed here last year and I wrote a review, now we have stayed again and this year I'm lowering my rating to 3 stars. The lodge is situated in a very pleasant and relaxing park, with nearby attractions and some fine roads for motorcycling. You can't expect too much from a state park lodge. It appears the budget for maintenance has been cut. Pleasant staff, great housekeeping effort, and we had a good sleep and a good time with our friends.

The lodge restaurant is busy since the next closest eatery is in a town several miles away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your posting and thank you for visiting Carter Caves. Comments such as yours allow us to see what it is we are doing right and what it is we need to work on.

Hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable, though double not queen sized, so plan on a cozy cuddle or use them both.
The bathroom is a nice size and well stocked with toiletries and soft towels. Rooms open up to spacious decks or walkways, though dividers allow privacy between rooms while allowing you to enjoy the serene views of the park.
The restaurant is reasonably priced for good, not fancy, meals. Overall, the lodge is exactly what I would expect from a state resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your post. Post such as yours allows me to show staff the things we are doing right and what we may need to work on. We appreciate you taking the time to share.

THANK YOU for choosing Carter Caves and we hope to be able to serve you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Carter Caves campground in August of 2013. The campground was quiet, the restrooms clean. Although the camp sites are spaced very close together, we didn't find that to be a problem, that's how it is at most state park campgrounds. I noticed other reviewers complaining about a raccoon problem, we didn't see any, but we did keep our cooler in the back of our SUV overnight, so possibly that helped. The staff wasn't particularly friendly, but they weren't rude either. The cave tour was very cool, well worth the money spent. We didn't check out the putt putt golf, or the pool, so i cant comment on those. All said, we will probably be back someday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your posting and THANK YOU for choosing Carter Caves. We appreciate the time people take to let us know what we are doing right or what we need to work on. Your input is valuable to us.

Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Campground was filled with families with lots of activities for the kids. For the most part, nice level lot but a challenge to get rig and vehicle in same spot. Camping neighbors super nice. Was a little alarmed when skunk entered our campsite, but he just kept on moving. Cave exploring, gem mining and pool very close by and mini golf at campground.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DeniseLittlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Carter Caves State Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your posting and for choosing Carter Caves. We appreciate you taking the time to let people know about your experience. Please be sure to come back and see us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olive Hill
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Grayson
75 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead
Hampton Inn Morehead
#2 of 7 in Morehead
421 reviews
23.0 mi away
Best Western Eagles Inn
Best Western Eagles Inn
#1 of 7 in Morehead
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
370 reviews
22.4 mi away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
279 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Caves State Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Caves State Resort

Address: 344 Caveland Drive, Olive Hill, KY 41164
Location: United States > Kentucky > Olive Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olive Hill
Price Range: $76 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carter Caves State Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Carter Caves State Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Caves State Hotel Olive Hill
Olive Hill Carter Caves Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing