We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to "pig out"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Corral - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good place to "pig out"”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I imagine most Golden Corrals are pretty much the same. A huge variety of food, from salads to meats. Most of it is really pretty good. The décor is pretty much "cafeteria" style. There is really something for everyone and kids love getting to pick their food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Childhood memories”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have always loved this place growing up as a little kid. Though the food may not be top star quality, it's still good. A nice place to go if you want to pig out on some of your favorite comfort foods. And is a pretty good place for small celebrations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buffet food - love the fried chicken and salads”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place is just OK, but I have to agree with another reviewer who noticed the number of morbidly obese individuals chowing down here. You used to have to go to the circus to find people this fat, but now Golden Corral is where they feed. The real issue with Golden Corral is that it is hard to navigate around the big folks in order to get to your table - the chairs seem too close other tables. As to the food, I hate anything Mexican they offer (tacos, etc). I do like their salad bar with fresh offerings. My favorite is their fried chicken, at least when there is any left. And that's the problem - there's often slim pickings and you sometimes have to wait for them to bring more food out and that can be as annoying as trying to wade through the flabalanche to get to your table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_Muenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value, very good food”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

An exceptionally well run Golden Corral - clean, fresh, well prepared variety of meats, vegetables, and specialty items. You simply can't beat the quality and price - true value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, ky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after a golf tournament with our team near closing time and I was very impressed. I've ate at Golden Corral several times and never really cared for it but this time was a complete change. The service was incredible, our server was super helpful, as were all the employees. The food was fresh and hot, which surprised me being a half hour to closing. Our group of 2 adults and 6 teenagers felt very welcomed. Thanks for great service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 
Nicholasville, KY
Nicholasville, KY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing