We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to eat”
Review of Copper River Grill

Copper River Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
256 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We live close to this location, but have not been here since it first opened nearly two years ago. The food and service was just as good today as it was when it first opened. The servers are real attentive to your needs.

The menu is expansive but we all opted for just the burger. They were huge and delicious. On par with price with other local establishments. If you like onion straws, I would recommend the Copper River Reds. You can order these as a side with any sandwich. They are very salty (If you like that) You can order half fries and half Reds if you are uncertain but would like to try. As a side note, the salads are really good too. For a small town, this is a welcome addition.

The atmosphere is cozy and warm. It is busy a lot, but if you arrive early, it should be easy to get seated quickly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    62
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One Word: EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have passed this restaurant many times and never stopped due to other obligations. Near dinnertime, the parking lot is always full. We found ourselves near Copper River one weekend when we had a spare moment and decided to stop in for lunch. We're now kicking ourselves for waiting so long.

The restaurant itself is beautiful and reminded me of many lodges at ski resorts out west. Big timbers make up most of the restaurant with rock and copper accents. The bar is dark wood, long and sleek. I have seen complaints about the lighting, but it's no different than any other restaurant.

We were greeted and seated very quickly. Our server was super attentive and when we were torn between what to order, she gave suggestions based on our likes. My husband ordered the Bigfoot Mother-in-law's burger with queso mashed potatoes and I chose the Kodiak Chicken with mashed potatoes. Our server recommended that one of us get a salad so we could have the croissant with the Glacier Sauce. It was wonderful. I also chose the House Dressing: honey mustard and hot bacon and it was delicious. One of the best salads I've had in terms of freshness and taste. Both of our meals were excellent as well. The queso mashed potatoes were a perfect blend of creamy potatoes with spicy queso. The price is reasonable for the portions you get. We even asked to speak to the manager and were met by the owner/operator who was very appreciative of our comments and also told us about the restaurant and how it's different. We're definitely going to stop from now on when we pass it or make a special trip to eat there. It's worth the drive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kychilehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
319 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Really good sports bar”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great service. Short wait - with electronic device. Lots of eating space - at the bar, at small tables, at larger tables, in booths. Food was varied and VERY good. Great selection of appetizers. Entrees were varied from big salads to big plates - veggies, pastas, freshwater fish, seafood, steaks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington,KY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting .........”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We've eaten there several times and have never been disappointed. The food and service have always been excellent. As others have said, go early, it does get busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FHF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is the nicest looking restaurant in Nicholasville. I have eaten there several times and the first few times it was awesome. Then it became a bit average because even though the portions are big the prices went up and the food didn't seem to stand out as much. The burgers are really good and they stay super busy but I haven't been back in a while. It is a nice restaurant to try out though.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CherylandJerry58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper River Grill also viewed

 
Nicholasville, KY
Nicholasville, KY
 

Been to Copper River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing