We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now THIS is a GREAT B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corner House Bed and Breakfast
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Now THIS is a GREAT B & B”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at the Corner House for 4 nights and I couldn't have had a better experience. The host Karen was great and the room was perfect. Now don't expect a hotel experience if you stay here. This is a vintage old house that has been immaculately restored, There is not much going on in Nicholasville, But if you have a car, Stay HERE. There are silly little touches like teddy bears everywhere. Next to my bed was a Girl Scout Manual. The TV was an old analog model. BUT WHO CARES!!!!! I travel every month and stay in fine hotels and this is a great way to stay to break the mold. The BREAKFAST's are great, and the conversation around the table couldn't be better. If and when I come back to this town, this is where I will stay, A great value, and the history is comforting. The bed was great, the towels were big. A pool table in the den, dvd's, books in the library, a big sweeping porch. It reminds me of staying at Grandma's house. It smelled great when I walked in the door. She also has other accommodations available like townhouses and cottages.

Room Tip: No elevator. in the main house, Get the room with a private bath or expect to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sokemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We called Karen on short notice and she was able to accommodate my wife and I in one of her townhouses. There was a huge graduation in town and even the hotels were booked. Karen met us at her home location The Corner House, and we followed her a few blocks to the townhouse. SO MUCH BETTER than a hotel. The townhouse was clean and neat. Met our needs perfectly. The next morning, we retraced our steps to a Delicious Breakfast at the Corner House, with 5 other fine guests, and we were on our way. Karen is a delightful host. All for less than the cost of a mid grade hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmyers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night while traveling through Kentucky. We were very pleased with the second floor suite which was large and very clean. The breakfast did not offer a great variety but the crepes were absolutely fantastic. The best part of our stay was meeting the owner/operator Karen who is delightful and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Corner House was the first B&B that I have ever stayed at and it felt like home. We stayed in the suite, which was large and comfy. The bed was comfortable, too. The only thing we didn't like was that there was not a true shower in the suite. There is a beautiful claw-foot tub that is large and great for bubble baths. It has a handle with a shower head-type end, but it is only for rinsing, not much water pressure to it. If you must have a shower, choose one of the other rooms. There is one room that has what Priceline calls a 'shared bath'. It is not shared, it is just that you have to walk across the hall to use it. When there are multiple rooms booked, the owner, Karen, explains to all guests that this is not a shared bath, it is for that room's use only. The other room in the B&B has a true shower, no bathtub. All of the rooms are nicely decorated and we actually moved some of the decorations just to make sure we didn't break anything! There is a billiards room and sitting room downstairs. The sitting room has this great old piano (or organ) in it that is really cool. It also contains a TV. There is ample reading material throughout the place. The breakfast was standard, but made to order at the time we requested, which we really appreciated, as we were the only guests at the time. I highly recommend you call Karen if you need a place to stay in the Lexington/Nicholasville area. She has other properties as well. I was able to take a look at a cottage she rents out and I know my family would love to stay there. Her prices are very competitive, especially considering what you get for the price. I took a lot of pictures there, with consent of the owner. I thought the B&B had a lot of charm and tried to capture it with my pics.

Room Tip: If you must have a shower, don't choose the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceghost360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our review this past May says it all. It's a nice older house in a small Kentucky town. Karen is wonderful with a personality that keeps on giving. She's got a story about everything and should write a book. We returned in August for three nights and will go back again. You should try it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TallTVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Corner House was my first B&B experience, and it made me hungry for more. The house is absolutely immaculate. Very well-kept. We stayed in the suite, and the room was fantastic. I can't recommend it highly enough. Karen, the host, was very nice and suggested a local tapas restaurant which had fantastic food. The breakfast in the morning was good, including a great french toast casserole. Prices were also very reasonable. The only drawback is that, at least in the room we stayed in, it has a bath and not a shower. I tried showering in the claw-foot tub, it simply wasn't set up for it. One of my favorite places I've ever stayed.

Room Tip: The suite was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brewcity77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickey, ME
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's I've stayed at. It has a great homey feel and is just plain quaint. I like the independent B&B's now more than ever and when I come back to the Lexington area this is where I will stay from now on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicholasville
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lexington South
Comfort Inn Lexington South
#2 of 4 in Nicholasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nicholasville
10.8 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
13.6 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
12.2 mi away
Gratz Park Inn
Gratz Park Inn
#4 of 6 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Corner House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 228 Richmond Ave, Nicholasville, KY 40356-1112
Location: United States > Kentucky > Nicholasville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nicholasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House is 101 yrs. old and is decorated with Victorian antiques. The six additional houses are rented by the day and each have 2 bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths. They are perfect for long-term stays! Those attending locksmithing school ask for that rate! All properties include a full breakfast at The Main House & free wireless internet, free washer & dryer, and cable t.v. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Corner House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing