We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel! Awesome Location!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel! Awesome Location!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days. This hotel location was right on the river. Suites were very clean and spacious. Daily breakfast was one of the best I have had at Choice Hotels. Different flavors for Waffles, fresh scrambled eggs, etc. The hotel staff was very courteous and check in was very quick. They offer free and covered parking which is a plus so if it rains during your stay you won' t get wet walking from the car to the hotel. There are tons of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. I would definately stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Request room with view of river. Amazing views downtown Cincinnati as well as Ohio River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    135
    62
    30
    22
See reviews for
107
113
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great view if you pay the extra $20 for the river view. Especially beautiful at night with the riverboats going by with all of their lights on. If you get a river view, request a higher floor, or you will be looking at a roof along with the river. The non-river view is of a party store.

Although the city seems to be putting money into the riverfront, the area around this hotel is not real great. We did not feel comfortable in the surrounding area. We realize that this is right across from Cincinnati and realize prices will be more for that, but this area is not worth what we paid.

The rooms are comfortable with a sleeper sofa and large bathrooms. It was nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. The noise level was good- no disturbances. Families note: There is NO POOL. That was something we missed in the description.

WARNING- When you check in and initial everything, they have you initial something that says that you will pay a charge for the safe. Do NOT initial this if you are not using the safe. They do not warn you that you are signing for that. You must read everything you are signing carefully.

Room Tip: Pay extra for river view. Ask for higher floor to avoid looking at a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was in a good location and the price was better than other hotels in the area. We stayed 2 nights taking advantage of the free parking and utilizing the Southbank Shuttle instead of driving and finding parking and paying to park elsewhere. We also walked across the bridges to get to and from downtown Cincinnati.

They accommodated my request to move away from the elevator quickly and courteously. We were on the 5th floor, but still could hear road noise from the street below.

It was an easy walk to several restaurants as well as the Newport Levee which has a few shops, but lots of eating places as well as night spots.

Breakfast is included and was well tended by the staff. The room has a nice view of the Ohio River.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerHeart25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had an ok stay in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. However, there were some minor issues with our room.

Our room had a very strange smell every time we came in. When I said something to the receptionist the maintenance guy came but never fixed it.

The carpets needed a very thorough cleaning bad. They were very sticky and made my feet really black. The answer to that complaint was that they clean the carpets every three months very thoroughly. But just not right now...

The free breakfast that they served was mostly carps and the eggs were off a weird substance. We only ate breakfast once in the hotel during our stay of a week.

Overall the hotel was okay for being in Newport. The price was a bit high, 150 $. And the 20 $ surcharge for being at the river was not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MASCGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We got a great rate on this hotel for an overnight stay after attending a music festival across the river. The hotel was spotlessly clean and new feeling. The bed was extremely soft and comfortable. The ac was functioning and wonderfully cool. This was everything we needed after a day of mugginess, heat, and walking. The location is perfect! We were within walking distance of Newport on the Levy and the Purple People Bridge across the river to Cincinnati. Our hotel view was the party store, but for the purpose of our stay we didn't care. Breakfast the next morning was not elaborate, but it was included with the room, was adequate and was definitely convenient. We definitely would consider staying again for a business trip or a quick overnighter!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spazzyjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice hotel, however the staff who checked us in were kinda rude and very short with us. Maybe just a bad day. The hotal was sold out, therefore very busy. The breakfest area is way too small for this size hotal. We went down and left three times before a small stand-up table opened up. By this time, it was close to 10 am and almost lunch time. And, just when you would like to sleep in a little bit, the cleaning staff is vacuuming outside my door at 8:45 am on this Saturday morning. No pool or spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My fiancée and I spent a 3 day weekend at the Comfort Suites.......

Pros:

*Location without a doubt is top on my list of Pro’s. The hotel is a 10-minute walk to Newport on the Levee. You can catch a trolley outside the back door of the hotel. This is a great location for anyone going to a Red’s or Bangles game

*We arrived early in the morning (1:30am) and a friendly and upbeat front desk clerk met us. She checked us in quickly and answered all our question with a smile.

*The room was large and clean. The bed was firm which is good with me.

*The complementary breakfast is served on the 2nd floor and the room is well maintained. The food was good. It includes fresh waffles, cold cereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy and an assortment of breads.

*The business center is large with 2 computers connected to a printer/copy/fax machine. The room also has a couch and a TV for your entertainment if you have to wait for a computer.

Cons:

*Parking. First of all the parking spaces are very small. Second, the hotel has fewer parking spaces than they have rooms. A guest was told he had to park a block away because the lot was full.

*No pool

Overall, an excellent hotel and I would recommend to anyone staying in the Cincinnati area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank born2bowl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071-4556
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing