We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“princess cruise”
Review of BB Riverboats

BB Riverboats
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sightseeing cruises on the Ohio River.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“princess cruise”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Room for improvement. The main activities were held on the first floor, so you were unable to view the ship taking off enless you walked out to the deck, which meant you missed the princess entrance. The princess were alot to be desired. They weren't at all what you would expect of a fairy pretty princess. Bra straps an alot of boobs hanging out. Thankfully my daughter didnt know better. Overall though it was great weather, meeting the captain was cool, and they didnt offer a bunch of stuff to buy up in your face.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank stace710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    97
    50
    14
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking for something fun to do, I highly recommend BB Riverboats. We celebrated by husband's 50th Birthday yesterday aboard the Belle of Cincinnati and had a blast. In fact, my husband said, "This was the best birthday ever!" The staff/food are excellent. The cruise up/down the river is beautiful and the lights at night are gorgeous too. There was a dance floor and a live DJ who made several announcements about people celebrating various things. It is well worth every penny. Our friends who were with us also commented on how fun it was and we are planning to do it again. Thank you BB Riverboats for your hospitality!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Renae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My parents and I went on the Belle of Cincinnati for a lunch cruise recently. It was a very enjoyable experience. The riverboat is clean and the service was good. The food was good, but the dessert could have been better. The atmosphere is old-fashioned, with a banjo player playing Stephen Foster's music. It was relaxing to sit outside and take in the sights on the Ohio.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleves, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Sending summer off with a bang~ Riverfest”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the 2nd year that we have gone on a bb riverboat cruise for the end of summer celebration. Last year we were on the Belle of Cincinnati, which is a much bigger paddlewheeler. This year we were on the River Queen, which is smaller. We did have a great time and I get that buffet food isn't always the best but the food could have been better.
The food isn't the big attraction here, it's the front row seats without the crazy crowd to the most spectacular fireworks display I have ever seen and I have attended many Riverfests.
The captain navigates down the Ohio River a few miles and then escorts the fireworks barge back up the river and then gets in position for everyone to enjoy the show. If you are in the Cincinnati area for Labor Day weekend and trying to think of something to do, this should top your list.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cammiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
346 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Dining on the Ohio”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

BB Riverboats offers dining at its finest, with scenery that can not be matched! Imagine rolling slowly down the beautiful Ohio River, music playing, and the aroma of delectable cuisine wafting in the breeze.

Don't just imagine it, but experience it!

Several dining cruises are offered, including the Dixieland Jazz Brunch and Dinner, the Captain's Lunch and Dinner, the Stonebrook Winery Sunset Cruise, the Admiral's Dinner, the Tropical Dinner, Fiesta Friday, and the Christian Moerlein Beer & BBQ Cruise.

The Dixieland Jazz Dinner is amazing! I felt instantly transported from the Ohio to the Mississippi, and I honestly thought that I would step off the boat and onto Basin Street. The Jazz band was spectacular, offering a constant flow of familiar tunes to add to the dining experience. A buffet is offered on this cruise, featuring everything from carved roast beef to chicken and sausage jambalaya.

Want to hop on board for sightseeing? A variety of cruises are available, including a few voyages to neighboring cities. And the little ones have not been forgotten, as specially themed pirate, princess, and ice cream socials are a part of the schedule.

I have honestly never seen such a wonderful variety of cruise options available with ANY riverboat organization. They somehow even manage to host private charters, special events, and holiday cruises. I can not wait to sail with this company again!

And you shouldn't either! Visit online and make your reservations, or they may be reached by phone at 1-800-261-8586.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BB Riverboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing