We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour”
Review of Bar Louie

Bar Louie
Ranked #27 of 106 Restaurants in Newport
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place has 2 happy hours. Tasty food and decent drinks. Be careful, the specialty drink menu has no prices. Don't get shocked when your tasty drink costs 10 bucks. The happy hours make this place affordable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank agavedread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    20
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I would visit again when in the area”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A nice bar by the AMC movie theaters on the Levee by the Newport Aquarium. We sat down on the lower level overlooking the Ohio River and watched barges and people on wave runners. We started out with the calamari which was very good, they had traditional served with cocktail sauce and I believe they had a buffalo sauce available too. My Husband ordered the fish po boy sandwich with fries and it was so delicious and filling that he couldn't even eat the fries that came with it. I had the flatbread with Chicken and it was a nice presentation, it came out on a wooden plank and was great. I would definitely visit this place again when we go back and try other menu items.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton,Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the only places that did not have loud music”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hit here late at night and was very pleased with the service... had a bite to eat and a few drinks... fyi.. do not have the long island ice teas... taste like lemonaide..........

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ugh, choose another restaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The service was comically slow, but sadly I wasn't laughing. Thinking healthily, I chose a salad. Hoping for a plentiful portion, I was greeted with a serving that could fit in the palm of my hand - for about $9. Steer clear!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank hojo7021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“awful, just awful. Bad food, bad service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stopped in for a sandwich before a movie. Our service was sloppy and indifferent, the food was awful (like raw hamburger awful) and they were not responsive to our asking for remediation. It smelled really unclean, like unwashed bathrooms and rotten food smell. Stay away. It is in a great location so the fact that it is so terrible is an extra shame.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stbrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Louie also viewed

 

Been to Bar Louie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing