We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC - CLOSED

Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dawson Springs, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Raining Wednesday and we had to use the outside door to enter. Shortly after we were seated they opened the inside door. Food was good. The corned beef was a little tough buy otherwise it was a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really was, Top of the Mornin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were visiting family in Florence, Kentucky and drove up to Newport to do the River Walk. By 11:00am we were all starving, but thought it was too early for places to be open for lunch. Not so at The Claddagh.

We were the first diners of the day, but received excellent service from waiter, Brendan, and assorted other staff. R,R and B enjoyed the fish sandwich - rated from good to excellent. I chose the scotch eggs, expecting the usual UK pub lunch version. Not so, again!

See the piccie for the best scotch eggs I have ever tasted - just look at those yolks.

Heartily recommended for brunch/lunch. Excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CliveAntler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Great Dinner Spot After the Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent the morning at the Newport Aquarium (which was excellent) and then walked a very short distance to the Claddagh Irish Pub. It is a classic Irish pub atmosphere, with the additional benefit of being right on the river front shore. The Harp beer was a usual great thrist-quencher.

The Jameson burger was delightful. It tasted like a hand-pressed, zesty-seasoned beef burger. It was covered with just the right amount of Claddagh’s signature Jameson glaze. In the place of the more standard cheddar cheese, this unique burger was draped with Guinness beer-infused cheese. This wonderful mix of flavors was topped with the thinnest of hand-cut onion straws. Although the meat was the dominant flavor it did not diminish the spectacularly soft, buttery brioche bun which stayed firm to the last bite.

The Galway Bay clam chowder was prepared in the traditional Irish style – a hardy chowder with diced vegetables, chunks of clams, and served with Claddagh soda bread.

The dessert choice was the Sticky Toffee Pudding which was a large scoop of vanilla ice cream centered on a canoe-shaped platter with a chocolate cupcake, drizzled with a homemade toffee sauce, on either side. It is hard to go wrong with these ingredients. It was outstanding way to end a meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BruinSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We had a nice time here~”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We enjoyed our one visit to Claddagh's. At the time, we had recently moved to the area and were trying a new restaurant every week in order to get our bearings for out of town guests. The waiter was extremely nice and very engaging. We loved the inside decor~very much like what we thought an Irish Tavern would feel like. While I cannot even remember what we had to eat, we had no complaints and did vow to return someday after we gave the area dining establishments a first go round.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE SERVICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went around 1:45 on a Saturday, after the lunch hour crowd had thinned out. We were seated immediately, and it took nearly 15 minutes to have a waitress even approach us (the host had to go get her). She took our orders, and 15 minutes later she comes back to tell my fiance that they are out of his choice, and he needs to make another order. She then disappears for the rest of the meal.

He had to go to the bar to get his own beer (the one he had placed an order with her for) bc she could not find the time to go and bring it to him. I had to flag down the host for a refill on my diet coke. When the busser finally brought our food out, it was ok.

She finally reappears to hand us the check and is not hasty in processing the order. WORST. WAITRESS. EVER.

I understand it was a Saturday at Newport Aquarium, but the restaurant was not busy due to the late lunch. I will NEVER be back there or to any other of their chains.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing