We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food... service not so much”
Review of Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC - CLOSED

Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food... service not so much”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went to Claudagh with a Groupon to use. The Shepard's Pie was excellent. Our server, Blake needs some work. We decided that being a server wasn't really his calling. He wasn't able to offer recommendations of food choices we asked of him. Instead of getting smaller plates for appetizers, we were given large bowls after we had to ask for plates and silverware. We had to ask for refills on drinks continually and once we paid our bill, we never saw Blake again to ask if we needed anything else, water refills or anything. That's the only server experience we had there, but the hostess was very friendly and helpful and the food was tasty too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluestraveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific fish n chips”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great views of the river and skyline from their outoor patio. Good selection of beers. Try the fish n chips. Huge portion, crispy but not over fried. Try the horseradish mayo for dipping your chips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmomCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food but the service is very slow”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Early Saturday evening I was passing by and thought the place looked interesting with a riverside view from the patio. Went inside and was shown to a table straight away and advised someone would be over with a menu. After a 10 minute wait I gave up and requested a passing waiter for one. Another 10 minutes passed and I got my menu. Placed an order for fish and chips and a Smithwicks, 10 minutes later told that they didn't have any Smithwicks so ordered a Kilkenny instead. Eventually my beer arrived, followed by my meal but had to ask for cutlery. All in all it took nearly an hour from arriving to being able to eat! Fortunately I wasn't in a rush, the food was worth the wait. Won't be rushing back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Waiter saved this restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were excited to revisit this pub. A couple of years ago we ate here and remembered if fondly. But, this visit was the exact opposite of the previous visit. We had the worse experience at this pub. We waited at least 5 minutes at the door before anyone noticed to seat us. We waited 10 minutes for a server to notice us and take our drink orders. (Apparently they seated us in his area even though he was on his way out the door.) The staff forgot to bring our appetizer until right before the meal arrived. The fish (which was highly recommended by our waiter) was horrible...tough, hard batter and cold. Our waiter was not to blame for any of this. He was the only thing we liked about this pub. Fond memories should stay in the past. We won't go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyformakeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton,Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“second try.. a little better then the first”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

stopped by for just a drink... played by their rules... for patio seating and went to the front first... but still... service poor... stayed for one drink then left...the management still has plenty of work to do... this on a Saturday night after the Tap N Run...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing