We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try! You will not be disappointed”
Review of York Street Cafe

York Street Cafe
Ranked #4 of 106 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“A must try! You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

service was amazing and the food was so fresh and unique. A great way to break away from the normal. They allowed for us to sit back and relax which made our experience so much better. As long as they are open, my wife and I will be customers

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    40
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing salmon sandwich”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice eclectic atmosphere, homemade fresh menu items, good service. I tried the salmon sandwich and it was outstanding. It was the kind of meal that lingers in your memory long after you've left the restaurant. Each component of the sandwich stood out to form a fantastic combination of flavors and textures. The sandwich came with a deliciously interesting coleslaw and soup also delicious. Can't wait to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank mvelarde1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just six weeks after our initial visit, my daughter and I enjoyed another terrific dinner at York Street. We both had the Flippin' Shrimp app, which are five medium sautéed shrimp served with a bacon maple cream sauce. My entree was one of the night's specials: Three Cheese Manicotti with Smokey Tomato Sauce. The blend of favors was light, unique and flavorful. Daughter enjoyed her Asian-Spiced Baby Back Ribs, served with garlic potatoes and steamed broccoli.

Since the Cafe has no signature drink (I wish they did!) I asked for a particular combination of juices and alcohol. It came exactly as requested and was delicious. Our only other food item was a chocolate hazelnut flourless torte, which daughter said was very tasteful, rich and delicious.

We must cite the work of Chris, our server. He is knowledgable, efficient, and utterly charming. His voice is smooth as the pie he serves and he could be a model for television announcers. He actually makes you feel like you've been friends all your life, and is sincerely grateful for your choosing to dine at The Cafe.

Dinner for two with apps, drinks, and one dessert - including dessert and tax, was $82. Given the exceptional service and outstanding food, we left $100 for the bill and tip, along with our words of appreciation.

This is a very popular restaurant (see ranking above) and they only take reservations for tables of 6 or more. So for dinner either go early or after 7:30 to be sure to get a table right away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in Newport, KY”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

.....This was a first visit for me.....met an old friend there....such an interesting place....the building itself has a history.....decorated perfectly...so many things on walls and shelves to gaze upon......and oh...the lunch was wonderful...I had the smoked salmon wrap...delicious....then a specialty coffee for dessert....sat and talked for 2 hours....we did not feel rushed....everyone was pleasant....superb service........looking forward to a repeat visit......perhaps if weather permitting...I will sit outside on the patio.....great place....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYRNINKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten path, great menu, eclectic atmosphere. Exceptional value. The menu changes regularly and the main dishes are classics with a twist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mertz1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to York Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing