We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, pricey, bland”
Review of Naked Tchopstix - CLOSED

Naked Tchopstix
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Chicago burbs, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slow, pricey, bland”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's hard to be positive about a fast-casual lunch that gets fully botched. Slow service, expensive choices, food without flavor. If you go, pick dinner - or set your expectations lower than a 5 year old's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Publius43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had high hopes of this restaurant after looking at their website and looking at some of the comments. I must have missed that many of these positive comments were for other locations. The food was anywhere from mediocre to decent, with the sushi that some of the table being quite good. The service was very lacking. The server had very little interest in our table and wasn't friendly at all. One of the biggest surprises, was the 20% tip added to a table of just six. We didn't notice this mentioned anywhere, though it may have been somewhere on the menu. The slow service and poor service made our meal here take much longer than we anticipated, cutting into our other plans on the Levee. I would recommend another of the many choices in this area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBReview98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great sushi!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food was actually pretty good. Decent selection of legit sushi here. Price was relative, and decent. The service was a little slow, but fortunately we weren't in a hurry.

This place is huge! and looks like it could really hold a crowd. You have the option to sit at tables or booths, or at the shushi counter and watch it be made. They have tons of options other than sushi. Their menu is about 6 pages, no joke. They have a huge fully stoked bar and drink specials, as well as specialty drinks. For levee atmoshphere and price wise, you can't beat this.

Also the bathrooms are awesome!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iagomega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Our first experience was a good one~”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I are not sure why this establishment is rated so poorly. Having recently moved to Newport, we dine out once a week to try the restaurants in the area in order to have a better idea where to entertain friends when they come for a visit. We enjoyed the drink menu, had fabulous appetizers, and loved our meal. The only complaint we had was that we did not like our table. It was too close to the kitchen and restrooms, and not close enough to the main dining room for feel the excitement of dining out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Confused food”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A mix of Japanese, Chinese, Korean food's. The Korean dish that my husband ate was very very good. They really captured the flavors right, according to him.

They tried to make me a sample of mixed vegetables and a grilled salmon but that didn't come out so right. The salmon was very dry. The vegetables did not have any spices on them and tasted like nothing. I was very disappointed.

So maybe they can cook the dishes that they have on the menu very well, and the moment you order something off menu it's going to be a trial and error.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MASCGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naked Tchopstix also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing