We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice size portions and fun atmosphere”

Hofbrauhaus Newport
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stopped here for supper after a day at the aquarium. It was quite busy so we sat in the quiet indoors off the main room to unwind. Lots of seating and they can pack the customers in without waiting for empty tables.

Kids menu were standard fare: pizza, chicken nuggets, burger, etc and came with a drink. The standard menu was extensive and took a while for a first-timer to flip through. The server was extremely nice despite her hectic job and helped us with our order. We ended up getting a chicken dish and the sampler. The sampler had enough food for 2 hungry or 3 light eaters. My kids helped out gladly as they were ravenous (again) after a busy day. We still had leftovers to take back to the hotel for another day.

The main room had an accordion player entertaining guests with German tunes, but those tables were family-style long picnic tables so not as easy for a family with kids who were new to this place and needed a quieter venue to unwind.

Nice evening and would return again if in the area on another trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jhsmith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 521 of 856 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had dined here a couple of times previously to a very jovial environment. We dined there last night to apathetic waters, poorly prepared food and the complete inability to deliver a birthday cake to the table. We had a family birthday. We brought a cake (they stated that we could and that they could deliver it to the table after dinner). Imagine our surprise when our little waitress (inattentive to say the least) brought out the cake in its box, sans candles and dumped it on the table.. One member of our party order the pork cutlets. Incredibly tough and they forgot to add the mushroom sauce, which made it dry. For Krauts, they don't know schnitzel about kraut. Boring bland and dry. Their ruben? Arby's does better. Don't bother bringing your concerns to the manager. He's a waste of skin. Makes excuses and makes you feel like you are the one with the problem. If this joint weren't in a touristy area, they would go under. Don't waste your time, your eardrums (loud, horrible, off key ooomopapa band) or your money (unless you like being abused. Then this place is for you.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Public Relations Manager at Hofbrauhaus Newport, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience. You said you have 2 prior visits that were good, but this last one went really wrong, so you know this visit was not typical. Can you email kmaslin@hofbrauhausnewport.com with what happened and what manager you spoke with. The experience you described is not how we do business and I'd like to hear more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our entire family (all 20 of us) had a delicious meal here. My uncle lived in Germany and is the family expert on all things German. He heartily approved of the food and the beer. They had meals that appealed to adults and kids and the value was great!

Thank IrishLassie312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is our second visit to the Hofbrauhaus, the first was moderate, this time it was poor and the service unique - which is more clueless than bad. It took our server 3 visits to get a beer, water and an NA beer - and about 25 minutes. They have no German NA beer, by the way, the server had to check that before he could even answer. And, if you don't drink, you know that German NA is fabulous. The restaurant was about half full, the server told us the kitchen had been "slammed" and was behind. At the table next to us sat a family of 3. They were brought their order after their dinner was eaten and the dishes were stacked on the table -- apparently had been served someone else's order. At another table had a two-year-old and 2 couples. The child was served, then about 10 minutes later, one of the men was served. In another 10 minutes, the couple's plate arrived. Tables were served out of order so people who came in 20 minutes after we did were served before our order arrived. Our order took 45 minutes and was only marginal. I had to request that empty glasses and dishes be removed while we awaited our order. The sampler plate included unremarkable wurst but the sauerbraten was dreadful, the cabbage and sauerkraut were bland and cooked to mush; as for the potato pancake, that was good but the lackluster when eaten with the other items. (Really, can you beat good Saurbraten and Potato Pancakes?) If you like German food, this is the poorest excuse possible and I'm sure the people in Munich would blush to the hem of their lederhosen because there is no comparison. The place is living off it's reputation. Find another German restaurant if you want good German food, keep looking because you won't find it here. By the way, we drove from Wilmington, N. C. for a good German dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GermancCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P, Public Relations Manager at Hofbrauhaus Newport, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We're sorry to hear about your experience, this doesn't sound like the experience our customers are accustomed to having. Were you visiting recently? Can you email some details to kmaslin@hofbrauhuasnewport.com more information. HB Munich frequently comes and tests our food and bier, and we get high ratings so I'm not sure what was different with your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoy this place as the beer is good and the German food is authentic (I have lived in Germany as had one of the friends we went with). Maibock was the special on tap, which I had. The special of the day was rouladen, which I like--so I tried it,. Very good. My wife had wild mushroom spatezel, which she also enjoyed quite a bit. This has become our go-to place for German food when we are in the Cincy area. Note that parking is valet and costs $5 (parking is tough in the area). We'll be back and are looking forward to the new one opening soon in Columbus. For those who do not like German food, there are a number of non-German choices like burgers as well as some local specialtites (a Kentucky Hot Brown, for example).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrauhaus Newport also viewed

 

Been to Hofbrauhaus Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing