We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rated Best Fish Sandwich in Area, I Agree!”

Green Derby Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 106 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Rated Best Fish Sandwich in Area, I Agree!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am always on a quest for the best fish sandwich and this place didn't let me down. When you arrive at location, rundown looking, awnings faded, but when I walked in, many friendly faces, I said hi and headed straight to bar. The Enquirer had rated this number one, so I ordered a beer and waited for my Halibut sandwich. The young lady behind the bar was friendly, the beer was Ice cold and within ten, fifteen minutes, my food arrived. The fish was fried, flaky, delicious, on some of the best rye bread I've had and the tarter sauce was excellent. I ordered fries, they too were excellent and the whole lunch was devoured by time my second beer was gone. I highly recommend and will be back next time I'm in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadDogCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    10
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrow, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more like a brown donkey”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

like some of the other reviews say, cheap food. heated up canned veggies, very poor quality steaks (stringy sinew in it, not just grissel).ordered med/well and blood was still running. she said could reheat but it would still have been stringy and very late in the dinner. service was slow and then she forgot stuff and then had to get her attention again! and it wasn't even busy. attmosphere is old and open. also very small portions. come to think about it, for no more than you get, this place is expensive, you don't even get bread!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good cheap food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

place is old, a neighborhood bar/restaurant. decent food, low prices, ok service. Everything slows down at very busy times, don't think they can really handle it. Still, a relaxed place to eat, mostly lunch.. Sandwiches are usually very good, and the mock turtle is as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beanstalk621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“funki-licious”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

place looks like a hole in the wall, but the food is great, especially for lunch when the prices are very reasonable...parking can be tricly during a rush, but the food is worth it...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sloppyjoepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with friendly staff, good food and great bartenders”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Have eaten at the Derby hundreds of times since it re-opened. The servers/cooks and bartenders all do a great job. I would highly recommend eating here.

John

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwattscpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Derby Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Green Derby Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing