We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is STILL our favorite B+B of all time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Year after year we come to this wonderful getaway and enjoy the house, the company, the views of the Ohio River and all of the activities close by. I honestly cannot think of one negative thing to say about any of our many experiences enjoying the hospitality of Ken and Sandy Clift! They make their home your home - that is the quality you look for when visitng a bed & breakfast. Those are the ones you look forward to returning to. If you are looking for a memorable experience, whether for a romantic getaway, anniverary, or even just to catch a Reds game and take in the CIncinnati skyline, this is the place you want to be. Come on down, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sunnisky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

Ken and Sandy's Gateway Bed and Breakfast in Newport, Ky is a must if you're visiting Cincinnati. A beautifully restored and furnished home within the scenic and historic section of Newport and so convenient to both Kentucky and Ohio's riverfront dining, entertainment, and cultural attractions. Ken and Sandy are wonderful, charming hosts who will make your stay memorable. I look forward to going back soon.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank skrapj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

My husband and I had an excellent stay at the Gateway Bed and Breakfast in Newport, Kentucky. We had a wonderful parking spot behind the building, and were greeted by Scrappy, Mr. Bear, and Ken (one of the owners) as soon as we pulled in by the garden. Ken helped to carry our bags in, and we had time to sit back and enjoy our beautiful room. We also were in walking distance of many restaurants and the Levee where we could shop, people watch, and go to the Aqaurium.
I recommend this Bed and Breakfast for anyone that is traveling to Newport for the location and hospitality.
Plus, Ken can make a mean Mexican omelet! : )

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank morningchoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

The hosts were great. The house was beautiful and the rooms were clean and spacious. Highly recommend!!

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank mssnyder61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

This is the best place for a honeymoon. The owners were very warm and welcoming, great hospitality! What a beautiful home that they have restored. The breakfast was incredable! (you have to try the ghetta? it was absolutely delicious!) I highly reccomend this place and will definately visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nicole2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus Ohio
11
Reviewed September 6, 2005

This is our third time in three years and we have reserved next year too. What better endorsement can we give. We love Ken and Sandy. Great people, great food, great time. Make the Gateway your Getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Normal, IL
11
Reviewed July 20, 2005

My wife and I had an amazing time at this B&B. Ken & Sandy are wonderful hosts and they made us feel right at home. They talked about the house and everything that went into renovating it, which made it feel like you really were staying in their home. Breakfast was wonderful, with a local favorite, goetta, on the menu. Sharing breakfast with the other guests was wonderful.

We would definately stay here again.

Thanks Ken & Sandy!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Newport
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
0.3 mi away
Aloft Newport on the Levee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Bed and Breakfast

Address: 326 E 6th St, Newport, KY 41071-1962
Location: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing