We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newport Aquarium

Newport Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated #1 U.S. Aquarium by Readers’ Choice Travel Awards and #1 Aquarium in the Midwest by Zagat Survey. Home to thousands of aquatic animals in scores of exhibits, the Newport Aquarium will amaze you with all there is to see and do. You can touch a penguin, pet a shark, hear divers talk to the audience during feeding time, play games in Frog Bog, eat lunch in Sharkey's Cafe and a much, much more!
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We love going here with our kids.We go two or three times a year. Our kids love trying to find "Nemo and Dory". It's great time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank samanthaspecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    499
    207
    51
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley City, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place to take the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Neat displays. The aquarium is huge, the size is deceiving from the outside. The displays were all packed with different fish, and they had one where the kids could touch different crabs and sharks. The shark aquarium is huge and you go through a tunnel with the sharks swimming all around. Penguins are kinda boring. they just stand there. they also have an aviary with lorikeets, just don't get pooped on.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank patgizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Must See When in Cincinnati!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a great aquarium, but bring your wallet. $76 for a family of four. We paid the same amount at the Cleveland Aquarium and Newport is waaaaaaaaay better. Here you can see penguins, touch sharks and other sea critters, watch the jellyfish, and walk "underwater". Great place!

One thing I really hate about this place though is that you must stand in line OUTSIDE to buy your tickets. OUTSIDE! In December!! In the KY/OH area!! Rain or shine. Snow or sun. Who's dumb idea was that? So be prepared to bundle up you and the all kids and then have to carry all your coats and accessories through the aquarium for the next two hours. :-(

Also, we had trouble with the parking deck which is not owned by the aquarium, but deserves mentioning since it was part of our whole aquarium experience. The deck was packed full; however, they had a desperately needed and available level barricaded off and closed. After driving around with an ever growing number of cars for 20 minutes looking for a parking spot that didn't exist, we and a few others gave up, moved the barricade, and parked on the closed level. INSTANTLY parking staff showed up and moved the barricade back and said that there were other spots available. We all left our cars parked on the closed level and when we came out the level had lots more cars added to it. Moral of the story? I don't know, but be aware you may have trouble parking on a busy day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pb4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Very nice aquarium. They are tons of different exhibits with fish from all alround the world. B est aquarium around for sure.

Helpful?
Thank simon1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The aquarium is a great place to stop in if you are visiting Cincinnati. It's not as big or fancy as some aquariums (such as Shedd in Chicago), but it is quite big and has a lot of fun displays and the staff are both very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Newport Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing