We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool aquarium with unique things to see.”
Review of Newport Aquarium

Newport Aquarium
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated #1 U.S. Aquarium by Readers’ Choice Travel Awards and #1 Aquarium in the Midwest by Zagat Survey. Home to thousands of aquatic animals in scores of exhibits, the Newport Aquarium will amaze you with all there is to see and do. You can touch a penguin, pet a shark, hear divers talk to the audience during feeding time, play games in Frog Bog, eat lunch in Sharkey's Cafe and a much, much more!
Reviewed December 25, 2012

To me aquariums are usually boring. We went on Christmas Eve and I was pleasantly surprised. It was more than just looking at hundreds of boring fish. We saw them feed the penguins, we fed parrots, saw a 15 ft alligator, giant octopus, and hundreds of other things. We have young kids and there was a lot for them to do and interact with too. The area the aquarium is in is also cool. There are shops, places to eat and a great view of the river. Maybe i enjoyed it so much because it was a holiday and not busy but I would recommend this place.

1  Thank Brandon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportAquariumKY, Public Relations Manager at Newport Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you so much! We are glad you had a good time. We work hard to make sure there is plenty to see and do when you come visit. Hope you can come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shark bridge"
in 156 reviews
"penguin exhibit"
in 37 reviews
"sea life"
in 50 reviews
"mighty mike"
in 34 reviews
"octopus"
in 28 reviews
"frog bog"
in 27 reviews
"parking garage"
in 32 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 28 reviews
"all ages"
in 76 reviews
"cincinnati area"
in 24 reviews
"take your time"
in 31 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 23 reviews
"spring break"
in 26 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 40 reviews
"rainy day"
in 26 reviews
"gift shop"
in 79 reviews
"whole family"
in 31 reviews
Filter

1,411 - 1,415 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the better places I have been. It is a bit pricey but there is a lot to see. The shows are great and the under water tunnel is something to see, along with the walk that lets you look in the top of the tanks. The food is not too bad. I would recommend for any age.

1  Thank gtmerkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportAquariumKY, Public Relations Manager at Newport Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you so much for this fine review! Do come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'd been waiting to visit this attraction for a while, and couldn't have been more disappointed by the actual product... maybe it was the time of year, but there just didn't seem like much going on to keep my or my kid's attention

Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Just passing through and decided to stretch our legs for a couple hours! We have been to many large to small and nice to run down aquariums in the past! We as adults enjoyed our visit. We found the aquarium to be very interesting and set up different then many of the others we have been too. We spent about an hour and half in the aquarium (2 adults no kids) . Workers could be more friendly. To be more specific, I mean the ticket people were not friendly, concessions were not friendly. The gift shop woman was very pleasant. Lots of food choices when you get the Cafe. Parking was easy! Exhibits were wonderful and the variety of aquatic life was a nice sight to see. All in all we enjoyed our visit. Looking forward to taking my kids there someday

1  Thank tiffnshay421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is wonderful. There are so many different things to see. Every kind of aquatic animal is in display. You walk though tunnels with fish swimming overhead or under your feet. I would go back.

1  Thank Farah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportAquariumKY, Public Relations Manager at Newport Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you! We are happy to know you had a good time! Please do come again when you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing