We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Meet Your Favorite Princess or Superhero

Although my son had a great time I found this trip a little lacking. This was their first hosting... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Molly T
via mobile
Relaxing afternoon

Went here on a beautiful Saturday afternoon to take this very enjoyable train ride from New Haven... read more

Reviewed November 4, 2018
Lori H
via mobile
Read all 122 reviews
  
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
35
31
22
16
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
35
31
22
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train robbery polar express dining car steam engine train layout gift shop love trains personal tour great place to visit branch line caboose diesel depot equipment superhero snow hat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 122 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

This stop was not our destination, but it fell in nicely with our plans on a hot afternoon.
If you go, take the "guided" tour! It just kept growing. We saw the train cars behind. Then our guide took us to the tracks in back to see some lonely cars and engines from the past. We thought we were done, but, No! We got to see where they are working on some projects. Then inside to the museum and model train set. A great tour. It's kinda sad they do not have the money to repair everything. It's all volunteer and these projects are big, so they'll likely never get done. But, it's nice to dream. Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monon32, Public Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Thank you so much for your review and delighted you enjoyed your visit and the guided tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

As grandparents we are always looking for something to do with the kids, age 6 and 7 years. Our grandson is crazy about trains so we took them here and were not disappointed. Gene Younger, our engineer made our trip fantastic.He explained the workings of the engine and even allowed the kids to explore it. The train robbery thrilled us and my grandson had won the jar full of candy corn but made sure he hid it from the robbers. Everyone was friendly and Gene made it extra special. Thanks to all. Great time.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Nancytriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

I recently visited with a friend and our preteen grandchildren. All four of us took lots of photographs and the children especially enjoyed getting to climb up into an old caboose. The guide really knew his stuff (answered tons of questions) and made it an enjoyable tour for us all.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monon32, Public Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thank you so much for visiting the Kentucky Railway Museum, happy you enjoyed your tour. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

I took group of seniors to the museum for tour only. Our senior center is a depot from old railroad station and we wanted to see what all they had for the history of the railroad system. Our tour guide, Frank, was informative, intelligent, and super friendly. We saw all railroad items from the past and then went out to the back to walk through 1902 steam engine, 1930's dining car, and caboose that retired in 1964. This was definitely the highlight of our day before traveling back to Ohio. If you get the chance, stop by and see all the history the museum has to share. It is a true way of stepping back in time ... thank you Frank!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monon32, Public Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Thank you so much for your review and happy your group enjoyed their tour, I will pass along your kind words to Frank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

Comparing this railway museum to others we have been to, it was just average. The inside museum was small and they didn't have many trains outside and none were open to walk through.

The best part of the visit was they were decorating the excursion train for christmas and the people doing the decorating saw us outside and asked if we would like to come inside. We accepted their offer and enjoyed seeing the renovated train.

They give you a fact sheet to read about the individual trains (it goes by the number of the train) and we didn't even find some of the trains on the list outside. I think children would probably enjoy this place but if you are a real train enthusiast I think you will be disappointed.

When you are walking around the outside trains, watch your step. They have large, loose stones on the ground (like a walkway) and they easily slide under your feet. I almost turned my ankle at one point.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monon32, Public Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

If you had chosen to take a guided tour you would have seen more than you can on a self guided. We hope you will come back and take a guided walking tour with one of our expert docents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews