We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kentucky Railroad & Museum / Murder Mystery Meal & Train Ride!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kentucky Railway Museum

Kentucky Railway Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in New Haven
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kentucky’s oldest rail museum is pledged to preserving the history and heritage of the state railroads. Enjoy a 22 mile train excursion through the countryside. Hop aboard one of our specialty trains. Trains run April-December.
Lafayette
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kentucky Railroad & Museum / Murder Mystery Meal & Train Ride!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Found this on the internet, was looking for a authentic old time railroad experience for my husband who has always wanted to do this type of thing! We added this as the starter activity to our family vacation and it was the perfect way to begin, it is easy to find, even though it is off the beaten path. thank goodness for GP's now a days! Museum is not large by any means, but just right for a afternoon activity. It is located in the peaceful town of New Haven, KY. You have an outdoor walking museum with engines and old train cars, along with and indoor museum, small but very nice, it is free to walk through, it is located in a old depot, which houses a gift shop and ticket area to go on the train ride throughout the country side. Our family participated in the Murder Mystery package. the meal started out in the near by B& B that also houses a local bar, (Beautiful old bar, original wood work, it is like taking a short trip back in time) They also let us go up stairs and look at the open B & B room, all decorated in antique bedroom sets and furniture. NO AC, so they tell you from the get go you are TRULY experiencing how it would of been to stay here years ago,, before boarding the train to go somewhere! The down stairs areas was Air conditioned and set up for meals and programs! we stared out being served a wonderful french onion soup, along with a beautiful salad W/ house dressing that was out of this world. The performers began to set the stage for the Murder & mystery behind it while we were eating our meal. Some of the actors even served us while we were eating our meal. You had a choice of Chicken or Salmon for the main course, wonderful as well with rice or mash potatoes.Dessert was of course a very decadent Carmel filled brownie with more caramel and real homemade whip cream and nuts and cherries to top it off! The meal started at 5:30 p.m. and then around 7 p.m. they asked you to boarded the train for the mystery to be unfolded and solved. this took around 2 hours. we stopped in Boston, Ky. for 15 minutes for us to get off the train, talk about WHO did it, etc. we then traveled back to New Haven and the suspect was slowly reviled to us. we also were given and opportunity to write down "MEANS, MOTIVE, OPPORTUNITY and who we think actually did it. Prizes where given to those that got the correct person in the end. They were able to go and pick certain things out of the gift shop.
After all was relieved we were given the opportunity to take pictures with the cast and crew of the production. Was a very fun time, they also offer a roaring 50's and train robbery event along with other e=seasonal activities! Was a great chose for our family and totally enjoyed by my husband who we actually did it for! Train is not remodeled and is in a little ruff shape but that just adds to the original~ness of it. It was $65.00 per -person to do this, which was very reasonable for all that it included! They even had a person come around and punch your ticket liek they would of done in the "GOOD OLD DAYS" Good choice for the start of our vacation!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn K, Public Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Our mystery theater events are one of our most popular. We thank you for visiting and so happy we could help you build family memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    18
    16
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much better than I was expecting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife decided that since we were spending the weekend in Bardstown,it would be fun to stop and take a train ride on the way home.She had never ridden a train,and though I had on a couple of occasions I figured I'd humor her. The ride is 22 miles long (from New Haven to Boston)and is surprisingly quick.The views are spectacular, especially over the trestles. I can imagine how beautiful the scenery is during the fall.The ride is child friendly and there were quite a few on board,so if you have a problem with kids you might consider skipping this.My wife enjoyed herself and wants to do it again in the fall.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kejola1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn K, Public Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
So glad you enjoyed the ride, the view from those bridges are awesome. Hope to see you in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the drive and admission price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you are near the the Kentucky Railway Museum, do yourself a favor and experience this wonderful place. Not too far from Bardstown, Ky. on Hwy. 31.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn K, Guest Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We strive very hard to make this a place that people will want to visit again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ive ridden on better....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

As a train enthusiast I was expecting a lot more. I understand that they had a flood a while ago that devistated their property, which is not something that can be helped so nothing against them. I do think it was a good move that they lowered the price of the museum to reflect the fact that it had been so devistated. The train ride was still the same and honestly I've ridden on so much better. The seats were hard, the AC kept making this really high pitched noise that gave me a headache, and it wasn't really working properly so it was a very uncomfortable ride. The engine we road behind looked to be in really bad shape, like it hadn't been painted in years. I didnt feel any sense of pride riding behind it that I usually get because of this. The staff were very friendly however and I really enjoyed talking with them. If you're just looking for something to do with the kids, go for it! If you are a train enthusiast you will be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn K, Guest Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Kentucky Railway Museum. Yes, we did receive significant flood damage from high water received in May 2010. We are still awaiting funds from Fema so that we may build a new building. The engine 309 from which you were riding behind is awaiting a new paint job and we hope to have that finished before our 2015 season begins. The Kentucky Railway Museum is a 501c3 non profit organization and is much of our restoration work is done in house by a small group of volunteers. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Museum and Train ride.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Took the 2 PM excursion from New Haven to Boston KY and back on July 22, 2014.

First of all, had the chance to explore the museum, which quite frankly was a little disappointing. I understand though, that they had a flood in the area and had lost some of their museum displays - and are now just starting to get it back in working order - so tourist, be forewarned ahead of time that there are not a lot of displays to see in the museum at this point. There is a neat HO gauge train layout that was running while we were there. I also will compliment the staff - they are very, very friendly and helpful. When we wanted a place to eat, they recommended Howie's (which was across the street) - and turned out to be an excellent diner for lunch.

After lunch we took the train ride, which was about an hour and 15 minutes total. Much time was taken for a runaround move in Boston, which was rather strange; and the engineer must have been apprenticing on the GP7 because he coupled to the passenger cars rather hard, and had not-so-smooth startups each time. The air conditioning on the train was not working terribly well, and considering that it was a 95 degree day, it made for somewhat of a warm ride.

For train buffs and enthusiasts, I can recommend the ride and I am sure that when they get the museum back in working order it will be worthwhile as well. If a tourist would like an interesting way to see some Kentucky countryside, I can recommend this as well. However, be forewarned that there may be some inconveniences along the way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank drummerscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn K, Public Relations Manager at Kentucky Railway Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
You are correct we did suffer significant damage from a flood which occurred in May of 2010 as of this review we are still awaiting funds from Fema so that we may construct a new building. The runaround in Boston is routine unless we are doing a pull pull with two engines. Your comment about the air conditioning may be true, when it is extremely hot our old equipment does struggle, We are very fortunate that we have climate controlled coaches and not all open window cars like so many railroads do, Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kentucky Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing