We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, comfortable, quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Plaza Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Murray Plaza Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
flyandee
1 review
“Safe, comfortable, quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall, my stay was fantastic. The room was cleaned daily and the staff was incredibly friendly. It was a great location to the university where I was taking classes, so it was the perfect fit for me. The only complaint I have is that they must have steam cleaned the carpets before we came and there was an odd musty smell for the duration of our stay. Other than that, everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Oh, hello, a writer! It was another pleasant July for us to have you all here again. Thank you very very much for your wonderful review. I am so sorry that your room was one of those that were shampooed prior to your arrival. We had to stop shampooing rooms after realizing it took extra long drying time. Soon after your checking out, we shampooed those rooms again with extra blowing fans. The rooms smell so fresh and inviting! Thank you again, and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    31
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
80
26
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My second stay in two months 8 days each. Let me list the reasons: Clean, quiet, completely self-contained room/suite for less than any other in the area and in any place I've ever needed to stay. Daily Housekeeping, and did I mention QUIET? It's off a main street in Murray, Ky, and yet, none of the noise got in. I had a MINOR complaint and the owners and Housekeeping staff went above and beyond to fix and better my stay. They could write the book on hospitality. A nice full ice bin, a clean, well lighted parking lot and proximity to every kind of eatery, grocery stores, a laundromat, JC Penney's, Lowes, Walmart and of course the University.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWryter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Wow, I don't know how to find words to appreciate you enough. It was a great pleasure for us to accommodate writers for 8 days. How come are you all so neat and polite? You were very kind and generous to us even there was a problem with the room... and even wrote this marvelous review! Thank you so very much! Looking forward to your next visit in January...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our first choice for lodging whenever we visit family in Murray. Ray and Helian are very friendly and helpful and make us feel welcome here. A simple request for replacement batteries in the TV remote was handled promptly and with a friendly note from the housekeeping staff. Because this most recent visit was an extended stay, Helian put us in one of the quieter rooms. Every room we've stayed in has been very comfortable and clean. The quaintness of an "old-time" motor court lodge makes me smile, but the basic amenities are here that are not so "old-time," such as free wi-fi, a fridge, and microwave. Although we are not coffee drinkers, it's nice that coffee is brewed each morning in the office, which gives visitors a chance to touch base with the owners. We'll definitely be back...again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki34655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Manager at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Vicki:

Thank you for another stay with us and giving us this big surprise! Sorry to miss seeing you at the check-out. I wanted to thank you in person. Hope your way home was safe and pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Clean, comfortable and highly friendly and professional staff make this a perfect visit. We were a family of five and checked into a queen size room. At the end of the 2nd day the owner advised me she couldn't abide by 5 of us in such a room and insisted we be upgraded. Add to that free coffee till noon and no more than a 10 minute drive from the Tennessee state line and there you have it.

Room Tip: I'd get the queen size room. The bathroom had a window which let in extra light. The owners spru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cscott932002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hey, Look who's here! It was a long stay with us, wasn't it? Thank you very very much for your time and review. You and your family were wonderful guests to all of us. Are you still in the United States? Hope the rest of your stay in the home country is very pleasant for you all.
There were bedding and a pair of shoes left in room after you checked out. The number I called to ask you where to send the items turned out to be your travel agent. Please call us if you didn't mean to throw them away. We keep customer's items here for up to 6 months, waiting for phone calls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were up for a family reunion and found this a clean, reasonable, place for our family to stay even though it was still 25 miles from where we was having the get-to-gather. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed setting out on front lawn in the mornings while others got their showers. They do need coffee pots in room, But we made ours in the Microwave. So all worked out. Also could have a continial beakfast that would be nice. Ate at Cracker Barrel one morning and Hardees one morning. Had to drive too both places. All in all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Carolyn:
Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us kind words and advice. By the way, I wonder if one of your family members has received her pillow that I UPSed. She left it behind, and called us to get it back. She said she can't sleep well on other pillows. Hope it didn't take long until she got her comfy pillow back.
I regret not to inform you that we have coffee in the office every morning, though our coffee could be too late for you if you got up earlier than 8am. Ray and I have had discussions between having and not having coffee makers in rooms so many times. Because of safety and sanitation issues we had to say "no" many times. We will reconsider this matter and figure out solution.
About breakfast: Yes, we also hope we have breakfast. When our place was built 60 years ago, they didn't make any large room that can hold many people at once for breakfast. We have some different ideas how to serve breakfast, but it will still take time to make one of those ideas to become practical. As now we keep our room rates low because we don't have "free" breakfast that many other hotels/motels do.
We appreciate your advice again. We take customers comments very seriously and do work hard to find solution. Hope to see you next time when you are in Murray!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful accommodations! VERY CLEAN room and comfortably beds. Convenient parking in front of the room. Only a few blocks from Murray State University. The owners were so very kind and helpful! We made reservations to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Vickey:
Thank you very much for your kind review and making another reservation with us. We remember you had tears, leaving your son at the university. I am very positive that he is in good hand. As an MSU graduate, I know it has very warm, kind, knowledgeable helping staff and faculty. See you next time with big smile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Murray Plaza Lodge is a clean, comfortable place when needing a resting place in Murray. Very affordable and convenient to MSU. I especially liked the parking by the door and walking right into our room. I felt very safe with the door lock and deadbolt on the door. We would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerFan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that our place has met your expectation. We will keep improving to satisfy your future needs also. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Murray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
20.1 mi away
Quality Inn Paris/Ky Lake Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Plaza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Plaza Lodge

Property: Murray Plaza Lodge
Address: 506 S 12th St, Murray, KY 42071-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Murray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Plaza Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murray Plaza Lodge is the only independently owned hotel in Murray, Kentucky (KY). All rooms are very clean and 100% smoke/pet-free. Special rates for Murray State parents/alumni, AAA, senior/AARP, military and government. Murray State University 6 blocks. Kentucky Lake and Land Between the Lakes in 20 minutes. All rooms located on first floor. Front door parking. Beautiful gardens with three big gazebos. Every room has AC/heat, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Murray Plaza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing