We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Plaza Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murray Plaza Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Trinity, Florida
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our first choice for lodging whenever we visit family in Murray. Ray and Helian are very friendly and helpful and make us feel welcome here. A simple request for replacement batteries in the TV remote was handled promptly and with a friendly note from the housekeeping staff. Because this most recent visit was an extended stay, Helian put us in one of the quieter rooms. Every room we've stayed in has been very comfortable and clean. The quaintness of an "old-time" motor court lodge makes me smile, but the basic amenities are here that are not so "old-time," such as free wi-fi, a fridge, and microwave. Although we are not coffee drinkers, it's nice that coffee is brewed each morning in the office, which gives visitors a chance to touch base with the owners. We'll definitely be back...again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki34655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Manager at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Vicki:

Thank you for another stay with us and giving us this big surprise! Sorry to miss seeing you at the check-out. I wanted to thank you in person. Hope your way home was safe and pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    31
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
80
26
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Clean, comfortable and highly friendly and professional staff make this a perfect visit. We were a family of five and checked into a queen size room. At the end of the 2nd day the owner advised me she couldn't abide by 5 of us in such a room and insisted we be upgraded. Add to that free coffee till noon and no more than a 10 minute drive from the Tennessee state line and there you have it.

Room Tip: I'd get the queen size room. The bathroom had a window which let in extra light. The owners spru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cscott932002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hey, Look who's here! It was a long stay with us, wasn't it? Thank you very very much for your time and review. You and your family were wonderful guests to all of us. Are you still in the United States? Hope the rest of your stay in the home country is very pleasant for you all.
There were bedding and a pair of shoes left in room after you checked out. The number I called to ask you where to send the items turned out to be your travel agent. Please call us if you didn't mean to throw them away. We keep customer's items here for up to 6 months, waiting for phone calls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were up for a family reunion and found this a clean, reasonable, place for our family to stay even though it was still 25 miles from where we was having the get-to-gather. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed setting out on front lawn in the mornings while others got their showers. They do need coffee pots in room, But we made ours in the Microwave. So all worked out. Also could have a continial beakfast that would be nice. Ate at Cracker Barrel one morning and Hardees one morning. Had to drive too both places. All in all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Carolyn:
Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us kind words and advice. By the way, I wonder if one of your family members has received her pillow that I UPSed. She left it behind, and called us to get it back. She said she can't sleep well on other pillows. Hope it didn't take long until she got her comfy pillow back.
I regret not to inform you that we have coffee in the office every morning, though our coffee could be too late for you if you got up earlier than 8am. Ray and I have had discussions between having and not having coffee makers in rooms so many times. Because of safety and sanitation issues we had to say "no" many times. We will reconsider this matter and figure out solution.
About breakfast: Yes, we also hope we have breakfast. When our place was built 60 years ago, they didn't make any large room that can hold many people at once for breakfast. We have some different ideas how to serve breakfast, but it will still take time to make one of those ideas to become practical. As now we keep our room rates low because we don't have "free" breakfast that many other hotels/motels do.
We appreciate your advice again. We take customers comments very seriously and do work hard to find solution. Hope to see you next time when you are in Murray!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful accommodations! VERY CLEAN room and comfortably beds. Convenient parking in front of the room. Only a few blocks from Murray State University. The owners were so very kind and helpful! We made reservations to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Vickey:
Thank you very much for your kind review and making another reservation with us. We remember you had tears, leaving your son at the university. I am very positive that he is in good hand. As an MSU graduate, I know it has very warm, kind, knowledgeable helping staff and faculty. See you next time with big smile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Murray Plaza Lodge is a clean, comfortable place when needing a resting place in Murray. Very affordable and convenient to MSU. I especially liked the parking by the door and walking right into our room. I felt very safe with the door lock and deadbolt on the door. We would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerFan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that our place has met your expectation. We will keep improving to satisfy your future needs also. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray, ky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking such wonderful care of the MSU MFA students who stay with you twice a year during our 10-day long residencies. They are thrilled to have such a nice place to stay and I hear nothing but praise for the cleanliness and the customer service. Murray is so lucky to have you and I am thankful to have a great place to send students to. My family also stays with you when we need extra room.
Nita King

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemoss, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Nita:
What a marvelous surprise! We are so proud to have your students here. They are extremely intelligent, polite, pleasant and considerate. The staff members are very happy to freshen their rooms, all of which are neatly being used. We are thrilled to see those students coming back this summer. We recently have been awarded from TripAdvisor for excellence in 2013. You, your family, your students and all of our guests made this possible. Thank you so very much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

When we had to find a place to stay in Murray, we were looking for "nice, clean affordable accommodations", and were we surprised! Not only was it everything we were looking for, the rooms were VERY clean! This place makes me proud to support family-owned, non-chain businesses. They have the chain motels beat, in my humble opinion, due to "pride in ownership", and a friendly and accommodating staff! Not only is this place reminiscent of a long past era, it carries amenities for today's traveler. I found myself inviting other family members come by to see for themselves! I'll definitely stay here again! Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAlton-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemoss, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Oh!!! We all remember you. You are the gentleman who came with family for wedding and whose's sister lost cell phone. We were all very happy for her when another guest found it. We really really appreciate your kind heart to write us this precious review. Everybody in your family was very kind and pleasant. Thank you all. Looking forward to your next visit..

Ray and Helian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Murray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
20.1 mi away
Quality Inn Paris/Ky Lake Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Plaza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Plaza Lodge

Property: Murray Plaza Lodge
Address: 506 S 12th St, Murray, KY 42071-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Murray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Plaza Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murray Plaza Lodge is the only independently owned hotel in Murray, Kentucky (KY). All rooms are very clean and 100% smoke/pet-free. Special rates for Murray State parents/alumni, AAA, senior/AARP, military and government. Murray State University 6 blocks. Kentucky Lake and Land Between the Lakes in 20 minutes. All rooms located on first floor. Front door parking. Beautiful gardens with three big gazebos. Every room has AC/heat, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Murray Plaza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing