We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great charm at an excellent price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Plaza Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murray Plaza Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value, great charm at an excellent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Lodge the past 2 summers while a family member was ill. The lodge is updated with current conveniences but still had a cool, almost 50s style retro vibe that manages to be updated and modern.

The owners were warm and kind, and escorted us promptly to a charming room well equipped (with microwave and coffee pot), perfect for our simple needs and an extremely comfortable bed.
Surprisingly, no road noise and very quiet, perfect for rest and relaxation in a comfortable setting.

We were only 5 minutes from the hospital, which was ideal, as well as 5 minutes from the local grocery, with convenient restaurants nearby as well. The owners turned on the air conditioning for us to ensure the room was the perfect cool temp while we unloaded and also checked on us during our stay, freshening our towels as needed. When we walked outside, we greatly enjoyed the lovely abudance of flowers and the outdoor gazebos add a great deal of charm.

It was the perfect stay during a difficult time for our family member and we highly recommend a stay if you come in for a family visit or a university event. I believe a discount is available for any MSU related stays. Thanks Ray and Helian for your kindness and care!

Room Tip: Ask to stay across from the charming gazebos if there in spring or summer - the flowers and view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarrPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemoss, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
It is our great pleasure and happiness to hear you enjoyed our place. For next year we are planning to plant more flowers all around the gazebos and in front of the buildings. Hope this gives more pleasure to customers who value asthetics like you. We hope your family member you were visiting is doing better. Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    31
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
80
26
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Plaza Hotel three times now while traveling. Each visit has met or exceeded my expectations. Having traveled extensively mostly staying in 'chain' hotels I cannot express what a nice change of pace it was to stay in a 'mom and pop place. The rooms are beautifully decorated , charming and immaculate. The exterior is equally as charming and well kept. The owners personally check you in even if you arrive late as I did. They will even set up your room and leave your key if your going to be late. Superior service, immaculate accommodations, and centrally located to area attractions. Highly recommended. Murray Plaza Lodge it's the place to stay when in Murray.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemoss, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Leigh:
Thank you so much for staying with us and writing this wonderful review. We are glad to read that we have met your expectations. There are always things to be improved. Your encouragement is giving us energy to keep improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Found this motel on Trip Advisor and have stayed three times. Very well located, only one mile from campus. Run by owners who care. Clean rooms. They even give a discount if associated with Murray State University.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemoss, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We really appreciate your appreciating our place. Every time a good review is posted Ray and I wonder who the nice customer is because it would be nice if we can say "thank you" in person when you stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Decided to stop in Murray,Ky on our way home from a destination trip to Asheville, NC. I booked a queen room on the Lodges website based on tripadvisor reviews. I also liked the idea of a nostalgic motel experience after staying at chain hotels. The owner who checked me in and out was very friendly, The renovations were made, keeping in mind the era the lodge was built. Our room was clean and cute, it reminded me of motels that I stayed in with my parents when I was a child, but with the modern amenities we are used to. It was reasonably priced, with pretty landscaping. We toured the Murray State campus and would definitely stay at the Lodge,if we ever find ourselves in Murray again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room closer to the office, ours was a little too close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I rember talking with you. Didn't you say you came through Smoky Mountains? It was a relatively cool summer day when you checked in. Since you left it has been very very hot without any rain. Even winds in shade are hot and the grass on the lawn is crunch. Is Missouri doing alright? Hope you stay cool and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I booked a room at the Murray Plaza Lodge after reading the great reviews. As advertised, the room was nicely decorated, comfortable, and extremely clean. The outside of the property is also attractive and well-maintained. I loved all the beautiful flowers! Compared to the chain hotels I checked in the area, it is a real bargain as well. We will definitely stay here again when in the Murray area.

Room Tip: We booked online and received a 10% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank B-our-guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you very very much for your wonderful review. We are the most fortunate people in Murray to meet all kinds of nice people from all over the United States and from other countries everyday. On top of that, your good review made us so happy! Wish we could write good reviews about our customers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason Co, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

It's been years since our last visit to Murray and what a pleasant surprise to find the changes made over the years to the Murray Plaza. The owners have done a marvelous job in upgrading and updating the motel. I highly recommend it! The staff is friendly, helpful and eager to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: It's ideally located for those visiting MSU. Lots of good restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koupaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemoss, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Aren't you one of the sisters whose father faught in WW2 and Korean war? I am very sure my guess is correct, yes, yes.. It was pleasant to talk with you and your sister. We really appreciate your appreciating our place. You made our day. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

My son became very ill while attending Murray State University. I came to the Murray Plaza Lodge to be with my son. Ray and Helian took me under their "wings" and made sure that I knew I wasn't alone. I am certain that there is not a chain hotel that offers that service. I made several visits to attend to my son and each time I received the same attention as well as service. While the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfy, I will always return for the friendship and kindness that I received from Ray and Helian. Thank you - I will never forget you. Donna Byrd

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemoss, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hi Donna. Thank you so very much for your warm review. Is your son doing better with you at home? I felt so bad last weekend we didn't have rooms available for you and your sisters. Hope you were able to find nice rooms nearby. The three busiest times we will have in the upcoming semester are:
1. The weekend just before the new semester starts
2. Family weekend (Sept. 28-29)
3. Homecoming (Oct. 12-13)
By the way I mistakenly clicked "Yes" at the end of the question "was this review helpful?". Oops! That's how one helpful vote up there was made. I am not supposed to do that, I guess :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Murray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
20.1 mi away
Quality Inn Paris/Ky Lake Area
21.8 mi away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#1 of 2 in Mayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Plaza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Plaza Lodge

Property: Murray Plaza Lodge
Address: 506 S 12th St, Murray, KY 42071-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Murray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Plaza Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murray Plaza Lodge is the only independently owned hotel in Murray, Kentucky (KY). All rooms are very clean and 100% smoke/pet-free. Special rates for Murray State parents/alumni, AAA, senior/AARP, military and government. Murray State University 6 blocks. Kentucky Lake and Land Between the Lakes in 20 minutes. All rooms located on first floor. Front door parking. Beautiful gardens with three big gazebos. Every room has AC/heat, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Murray Plaza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing