We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for the value”

Best Western University Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

hotel was nice... breakfast good ...staff was nice...pillows were lumpy and poor quailty...all rooms were clean but smelled like smoke..our group had about 10 rooms everyone reported the same thing...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

The exterior appearance was acceptable, although the room interior was in need of an update. The hotel was largely occupied by utility crews, who gathered on the exterior terraces drinking beer, smoking cigarettes, and generally making a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Its hard to say anything negative about this hotel, the staff is really friendly and helpful, the room clean (a slight disinfectant odor but nothing serious), the beds were comfortable, breakfast was what you would expect at any similarly priced hotel. Our only complaint is something we knew about before we made the reservations so I can hardly blame the hotel for it, but the rooms have double beds instead of queen size beds... not a huge difference but enough to downgrade the sleep comfort when 2 people (make that 2 older people) share a bed because we were traveling with family. Next time we travel to Murray (and with grand kids and great-grand kids living there we will be back) we would definitely stay here if traveling by ourselves, but if traveling with family we will look for a place with larger beds... unless they get queen sized beds at this location. Overall this is a really good place to stay in Murray!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baracuda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

that was one of the the best hotel stay we have stay in a long time the staff was just great and the breakfast was great the cook she was so nice also everybody that works at that hotel should get a raise they were excellent a five star staff thank you all jim and yolanda ziarko

Room Tip: nothing wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The exterior and interior of the hotel was very well maintained. The room was updated and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was helpful at check in. Hotel is close to a nice restaurant and to the University.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

First time staying at this hotel in Murray. For reference, we usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express or the Hampton Inn in Murray, KY and we like both of those properties. My first room at the Best Western had a barking dog and the TV was having issues. The front desk rep changed my room with no problem and noted the tv issue for maintenance to address. Next room was nice. One of the cleanest rooms I have stayed at in Murray. Breakfast was good and selection was nice. Bath wash clothes and towels were bit thin, but not a deal breaker. The only concern I have is the outside entrances for guest rooms, it lacks that extra layer of security. Overall, I would definitely stay at the Best Western University Inn again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Friendly staff and clean. Great location. Close to the Murray State University, Lots of restaurants and shopping close to hotels location, I have used this location for several weeks for my IT installation crews lodging and all on crew find it to be very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank L A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Murray
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Murray
12.9 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
13.6 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#2 of 2 in Aurora
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 1503 N 12th St, Murray, KY 42071-3534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Murray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Price Range: $81 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Murray
Best Western Murray
Murray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing