We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Mound Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

Our short weekend get away was enhanced even more so by our stay at Murray Kentucky Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Everything was excellent from registration to check out. The room was extreemely clean, breakfast was great, and the attendant was friendly. Being a couple that traveles at least 12-15 times a year and staying in a lot of different hotels, this one excells by far, almost like home. We will be staying with this hotel again! Thank You...

  • Liked — Rooms and hotel were very clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Read hotel reviews before you go
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everbusymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
15
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2006

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express (after spending the night before at the Bestwestern) and I only wish I had booked us at the Holiday Inn Express for BOTH nights. The rooms were super clean, spacious and comfy. The rooms are quite large with ample lighting and several mirrors (we have a teenage daughter! ;) The bathroom was also large with a sink area and mirror large enough for two of us to use at one time (unlike the Bestwestern). But it was the super-clean bathroom shower, sink and floors that caught my attention. It just was an obvious difference from the Bestwestern. A soft throw at the foot of the bed and the varying softness of extra pillows on the bed are just a couple of the extra features of their rooms. The free internet connection both in the room and in the business office in the lobby were nice extras too. As was the free coffee 24 hours a day.

The continental breakfast which runs from 6:30-9:30am offered more choices than I've typically seen. They had the usual fare of fruit, cereal, toast, muffins and bagels but also had some new items like cinnamon rolls, cheese omelets and bacon. Although I didn't care for the omelets, there was certainly enough variety for anyone to choose from.

The pool, while a bit smaller than at other hotels we've stayed, was very clean as was the whirlpool. We didn't use the exercise room, but it was a nice room that had two treadmills and an elliptical machine that faced a tv. The pool area also has a sauna which we didn't use, but other people seemed to be enjoying?

After reading previous visitors' comments, I was a bit worried how the service would be, but our experience was nothing but positive! The young man that checked us in was extremely professional and helpful. Then, at about 10pm, we decided to venture down to Kroger for some bakery items. When we returned to the lobby, we asked the young man behind the desk if he had access to a microwave and he gladly took our bakery items to a break room behind the desk to microwave them for us. Check-out was equally positive.

Overall I found this hotel to be exceptional and a HUGE step up from the Bestwestern. For a $23 difference (with AAA) to stay at HIE rather than the Bestwestern, I'd stay at HIE every time- without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2005

Customer service is lacking at the registration desk, they can't be bothered. However, the hostess at breakfast is absolutely wonderful. She is very sincere and will give you any local information you ask for.
This is a brand new hotel, yet there was a bad leak in the air conditioner unit when we entered the room, we notified the front desk and received a fan to dry the carpet, there were no other rooms available, so we had the soggy carpet for our entire stay.
I get the impression that since this is the newest hotel in the area, the staff feels that they don't need to try so hard. I'm trying Amerihost next.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ally714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2005

This was a very clean hotel with a very friendly staff. The pool area was nice and clean, but a little small. The free continental breakfast was great The bed was very comfortable. It is in a nice area close to the university although there is nothing within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2004

It was a horrible stay! They acted as if they couldn't care any less if we stayed or not!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2004

Clean hotel. Located a few blocks from the University. Near restaurants, but not really walking distance. Offers high speed internet ethernet connection.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lawgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Murray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Murray
22.3 mi away
Quality Inn Paris/Ky Lake Area
13.5 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#1 of 2 in Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
Address: 1504 North 12th Street, HWY 641 North, Murray, KY 42071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Murray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Murray
Holiday Inn Murray
Murray Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing