We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here during a visit to family in the area. We had one of the larger suites on the property. We liked everything about this hotel, but the friendliness of the staff stood out for us. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is good but we would have like a little more fresh fruits. We have 2 minor complaints; first the carpet in our room really needs a good cleaning and we could never get the jakuzzi to work properly. We will defiantely stay at this hotel again when visiting our family in Murray.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baracuda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place was extremely comfortable with a very nice continental breakfast. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paxton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the larger suites. Nice fridge, beds were a little firm. Pullout bed was uncomfortable for our teenager. Shower water pressure was a little lacking. What's odd about not just this hotel, but it seems all in the area is a lack of recycling program. No place to recycle your plastic bottles. Skip the breakfast and hit the Hardee's just up the street.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank flashfearless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed in the jacuzzi suite for two days. Room was clean and I liked the flat screen tv mounted on the wall. Pool was nice and clean. The breakfast was very good. I loved the hot cinnamon rolls. The high speed internet was fast. Stayed at the Hampton in Murray the week before. I will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express from now on when I visit Murray. They are not trying to rip you off for the litte things like the Hampton. $2.00 for a drink out of the machine at the Hampton. $1.25 for the same thing at the Holiday Inn. The exercie room at the Hampton is nicer but you get a free pass to a workout facility at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband, youngest daughter, and I stayed at this hotel after dropping our oldest daughter off at MSU for the KY Governor's Scholar's Program. The hotel was even better than we expected -- very clean and nice staff. Our room had 2 very comfortable Queen beds, a sofa sleeper, microwave, and mini fridge. My daughter said the pool was nice. Breakfast was very good with nice selection of fresh items. We've seen waffle makers in hotels before but never a pancake maker -- push a button for however many pancakes you want and hold your plate underneath to receive the cooked pancakes. Don't leave without trying the Holiday Inn signature cinnamon rolls -- they are yummy. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Murray over a Saturday night. We were in town for my sisters senior recital at MSU. I think the rate was about $95. This was within 2 minutes of MSU.

Upon check-in, we were greated with a friendly face and were told where our room was. This was the only positive experience we had with their staff all weekend. That evening we enjoyed the pool and hot-tub, however the hot-tub was more of a luke-warm tub. It was still refreshing though.

The bed was very soft and the room was very spacious. The room had a nice tv. The room also had ample drawer and closet space. The bathroom was average size with an average size tub. It was also very clean!

The next morning we went down for the breakfast. This was a pretty good breakfast. Ham, bacon, eggs, sausage, cereal and buscuits/gravy. We went around 8:30 and asked the lady workign if their would be more bacon coming out and she said, "well you will just have to wait. If you come last thing, you will just have to take what you can get!" This was not what I expected hear, especially since the breakfast closed at 9:30! I was absolutely amazed that we had been treated this way.

I then went to the front desk to ask if we could have a late checkout and she said, (in a not very caring voice), that their late checkout limit had already been reached for the day. Not a sorry, or even something explaining. Just no.

This is a great hotel that simply needs some hospitality training.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musicguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear musicguy8,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel as well as the room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the hotel staff service received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The good: rooms are modern and clean. Nothing spectacular, but fine for an overnight stay. The pool and whirpool were clean and warm. The sauna was an unusual, nice amenity. Wi-fi and business center both were in great working order. The breakfast had a nice selection - more than standard fare in other business-class chain hotels. And the lady tending the breakfast area was wonderful -- very friendly and hospitable.

The bad: the man at the desk during the day shift was not pleasant. He seemed perturbed that we arrived a few hours early for check-in. (We had hoped to freshen up and change clothes prior to a scheduled appt at the university.) He informed us that our two rooms were not ready, and (in a snarky tone of voice) that even if they HAD been ready, he would charge us $50 each room for an early check-in fee. What?! I've never heard of such a fee. I am a member of the Holiday Inn Priority Club (but we usually stay in Hilton or Sheraton brand hotels), and have never been charged an "early check-in" fee. They either have the room ready, or they don't and we wait until they do - no big deal. We had six road-weary people who really needed to freshen up, so I asked to use their lobby bathrooms for that. He pointed me in the right direction, but seemed sullen about it, and didn't greet any of the rest of our group as they filed in from the parking lot. Not a nice welcome at all. He was on-duty again the next morning, but when I went to check-out, he was no where to be seen at the counter. I waited a few minutes to see if he would come out, but he didn't. Since I had our pre-printed receipts, and didn't really want to see him again anyway, I just left our key cards on the counter.

The young lady on the evening shift was, however, very pleasant and prompt to the counter. When we returned from our university appointment to check-in, she was efficient, courteous and even slightly apologetic as she explained the carpets were all cleaned that afternoon and may still be slightly damp...which they DEFINITELY were. That was not pleasant at all, on bare or sock-covered feet. Seems there should be a better way to clean hotel carpets than ALL at once, maybe staggering cleaning of certain floors to leave some rooms dry for guests?

While this stay was not completely unpleasant, there were enough negatives that we will definitely look around for another hotel the next time we are in Murray. Seems to be a lot of other options available in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear HappyFamily005,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and thank you for being a Priority Club member. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27731083

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Murray
0.1 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Murray
40 reviews
12.8 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
22.3 mi away
Quality Inn Paris/Ky Lake Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray

Address: 1504 N 12th St, HWY 641 North, Murray, KY 42071-3533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Murray
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Price Range: $112 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Murray
Holiday Inn Murray
Murray Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing