We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Mugsy's Hideout LLC
Ranked #9 of 93 Restaurants in Murray
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Finally, we found a great place to sit and relax while enjoying fresh food! It is a challenge to find a decent restaurant in Murray, and numerous times we have failed. Look no further, fresh salad, pizza, vege lasagna, chicken parm and pleasant prices to go with the meal including alcohol. The staff and owner were helpful, as well as prompt and friendly. We will return on our next visit to Murray!!! I am not sure why I see a picture of sushi with this. No sushi here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4EverLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little bit of Chicago...in Kentucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Mugsy's Hideout in downtown Murray is a gem. There are several sandwiches, including Chicago-style hot dogs, and pasta dishes. But my favorite is the pizza...but not just any pizza, you have to order the Chicago-style.

I have eaten at the best pizza places in Chicago, and Mugsy's ranks up there with those joints. The owner, Jay, is from Chicago, and he brought his love of food and the Windy City together here in Murray to deliver a pizza worthy of his home city. It will take a little longer (about 40 minutes), but it's worth it. While you're waiting, have a pitcher of beer.

Mugsy's has reasonable prices, good service, and is a welcome break from the restaurant chain-food prevalent in America today.

Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard19651965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Downtown Murray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Food was good with a variety of choices typical for a college town. Service was good, but a bit slow, especially for the number of customers there at that time of night. It had been suggested by a young person working at our hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nan725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“REAL Chicago-Style in Kentucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Wife and I ate at Mugsy's for the first time last week and it was outstanding. Having moved to Murray from the Chicagoland area and having lived in downtown Chicago before, I can say that we know what the food should taste like. This place delivers and anyone who says it doesn't has no clue what they are talking about.

We ordered the deep dish style pizza that the city is known for and it looked and tasted like a perfect version of Giordano's pizza, which I prefer over Lou Malnati's any day of the week. When we placed the order the waitress told us it would take about 30 minutes for the pizza to cook, which should be standard when ordering this type of pizza. If they tell you it will be done in 20 minutes or less... run out of that place because its not authentic! The crust was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside, the cheese was perfectly melted, and the sauce was seasoned just right with the crushed tomatoes in it.

To hold ourselves over on the pizza, we ordered the Loaded Chips and they were also pretty good. Crunchy potato chips with chili, melted cheese, lettuce, olives, tomatoes and onions were tasty but messy to eat so be warned.

Wait staff was friendly and the place is clean. We'll be taking out of town guests to eat here over a some of the other places in town. As we were on our way out the door we learned that the owners (husband and wife) are both from Chicago (one Southside and the other Northside), had worked in restaurants up there for 22 years, and truck their meat in from Chicago to make sure its authentic.

We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJHawkeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Salads, sandwiches, Italian entrees, draft beers...a relaxed, reasonably priced place to chow down.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank songbirdtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mugsy's Hideout LLC also viewed

 

Been to Mugsy's Hideout LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing