We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Corio Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corio Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Corio Bay Motel on the 1st of December. I stayed in an downstairs double room with my friend and we had an excellent stay. From the moment we walked in we were greeted and told everything we needed to know such as the location of the room, a breakfast room and free wifi! As we were catching a plane out of the Melbourne airport the women in reception was more then helpful, she explained the way to get there and gave us a map. The room was neat and tidy. It had everything we needed for our stay. I would recommend staying here to anyone, even for a old motel it surprised me from the moment i stepped in to the reception, the service was just great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
20
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mysore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stopped over at this motel during the way to the great ocean drive I took in AUS, the locale is near a railway crossing and there's also a fuel station nearby- handy for filling up the gas tank. The rooms were nice and clean, with provisions for making coffee and also had a fridge. The beds were nice. The toilets were ok in the strictest sense. Early morning breakfast in the mess is an average affair, as you can expect from a drive in motel. Don't expect to be blown away by the motel, it's clean and good enough for a nights sleep, and should suffice for any long distance traveler.

Room Tip: Use Wotif to book rooms, you could get a nice deal. Be early for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank indrajit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this motel due to it being close to Avalon Aiport for our early moring flight. The room itself was quite clean however the bathroom had a very strong smell of urine. It was so off putting that i could not actually shower in the morning. It is a cheap motel but not worth the money. It was also very noisy and I didn't feel safe leaving my car outside - the managers car was locked in a high cage!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corio hotels

Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stay in this motel a couple of times a year-staff are friendly and room rates are some of the best in Geelong. It is on the outskirts somewhat but a easy drive to many restaurants and the city. It is not 5 star but clean and well kept with fridge in room. Often full on weekends so book ahead-a budget motel which is good if you are busy out and about, not much around the property so not really a place hang out too much in and must have own transport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank housekeeping30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed there recently and found the accommodation wonderful. The bed was comfortable and i had an great night sleep. I was recommended to stay there by friends who stay there regularly.The room was small, clean and well appointed with crockery and a microwave. I enjoyed breakfast which didn't cost extra. Will definitely stay their again on our next trip :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This motel is definitely not worth it. I picked this hotel to stay in with my sister based on the good reviews - much to our disappointment. We were very glad we were only staying one night on the journey from the Great Ocean Road (Adelaide to Melbourne). We paid $110 on Wotif but when we arrived there was a banner advertising rooms for $85. The furnishings are dated and extremely basic, which meant that the room, although fairly clean, looked tired. There were insects in the room, we had to hide out in the small bathroom after spraying bug spray. The motel was located on a busy highway, you could hear the trucks from the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoewallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

This would have to be the worst motel I have stayed in. We were there for 4 nights and after the first night we searched for another hotel to stay in but because of school holidays everywhere else was booked. The shower in our family room was really tiny and I would hate to think how a large person would be able to shower. No basin in the bathroom for shaving or teeth brushing - only the sink in the kitchenette was able to be used. The beds were confortable with clean sheets. The room was smelly and the lino at the door was lifting exposing rotting wood. The timber work in the bathroom was also rotting. There was a group of us and we had 4 rooms booked. When our friends in room 18 and 21 took a shower water leaked onto the path outside the room and you could hear the water running down the drain. The ceiling tiles in room 20 were damaged. No hairdryer was in room 19 and I had to go to another room to use their hair dryer located in the kitchen area. This motel is an absolute disgrace and should be bulldozed. When we first arrived there were a few men standing outside the rooms upstairs smoking at the doorway. My first thought was that it looked as if it were a prisoners half way house. We were charged $130 for a family room and only 2 pillows were in the room. The children used the pillows that matched the bed cover. Hygiene is obviously not of high priority in this establishment. I am going to make further complaints to the Victorian authority.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms face the Princes Highway and I believe they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corio
4.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
6.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
5.3 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corio Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corio Bay Motel

Property: Corio Bay Motel
Address: 292-296 Princes Hwy, Corio, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3214, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Corio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corio Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for comfortable, convenient, affordable accommodation look no further than the Corio Bay Motel. The Corio Bay Motel is conveniently situated on the Princes Highway, Corio, only minutes from the Geelong CBD, the Arena and only minutes from Avalon Airport. Corio Bay Motel is the closest Motel to the Avalon Terminal, Avalon Speedway, Beckley Park and Stead Park. Our 24 comfortable ensuite units offer: *Comfortable Queen or Twin Beds *R/C Air Cond. *Remote Flat Screen LCD TV *Alarm Clocks *Tea/Coffee *Toaster *Microwave *Serviced Daily *All Non Smoking Rooms *Off Street Parking *Guest Laundry *Complimentary Light Breakfast in The Dining Room Each Morning 7.30am and 9.30am. Corio Bay Motel now Dog Friendly (conditions apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Corio Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing