We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible motel - outdated and overpriced”
Review of Corio Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corio Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This motel is definitely not worth it. I picked this hotel to stay in with my sister based on the good reviews - much to our disappointment. We were very glad we were only staying one night on the journey from the Great Ocean Road (Adelaide to Melbourne). We paid $110 on Wotif but when we arrived there was a banner advertising rooms for $85. The furnishings are dated and extremely basic, which meant that the room, although fairly clean, looked tired. There were insects in the room, we had to hide out in the small bathroom after spraying bug spray. The motel was located on a busy highway, you could hear the trucks from the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoewallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

This would have to be the worst motel I have stayed in. We were there for 4 nights and after the first night we searched for another hotel to stay in but because of school holidays everywhere else was booked. The shower in our family room was really tiny and I would hate to think how a large person would be able to shower. No basin in the bathroom for shaving or teeth brushing - only the sink in the kitchenette was able to be used. The beds were confortable with clean sheets. The room was smelly and the lino at the door was lifting exposing rotting wood. The timber work in the bathroom was also rotting. There was a group of us and we had 4 rooms booked. When our friends in room 18 and 21 took a shower water leaked onto the path outside the room and you could hear the water running down the drain. The ceiling tiles in room 20 were damaged. No hairdryer was in room 19 and I had to go to another room to use their hair dryer located in the kitchen area. This motel is an absolute disgrace and should be bulldozed. When we first arrived there were a few men standing outside the rooms upstairs smoking at the doorway. My first thought was that it looked as if it were a prisoners half way house. We were charged $130 for a family room and only 2 pillows were in the room. The children used the pillows that matched the bed cover. Hygiene is obviously not of high priority in this establishment. I am going to make further complaints to the Victorian authority.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms face the Princes Highway and I believe they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The closest motel from Jetstar's Avalon airport, 12km worked out to be around $29 in taxi fare from the airport with a Christmas day surcharge. It is an older style motel with mix matched furniture but was very clean and tidy. $85 per night for a comfy queen bed, LCD tv, mini fridge, microwave, kettle, the bathroom was big and spacious and clean. Reception was friendly. The included breakfast was great, nice little set up in the breakfast room, choices of several cereals, juices, toast, spreads, tea and coffee. A nice inclusion to get you started for the day. Would be nice to have little pots of yoghurt included. Initially I noticed the traffic noise being on the highway and next to a servo but this didn't bother me later, slept like a log. A suggestion would be to update the bedspreads to a simple modern cover that would brighten up the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank belii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Needed place to stay overnight near my son's school. Nice, clean room. Arrived from a red eye flight, took a short nap before evening event at school. Great sleep at night woke up next morning at10AM! Owner very nice didn't rush me to get out :-) . The only downside bit of street noise however heater/AC unit cancel out the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ismail_Tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great value accommodation. Rooms are clean and beds comfy. Complimentary light breakfast yummy! Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dmc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Excellent value for money, and a warm welcome from the owners. OK, the breakfast room is more than a little 1960s, but you can get a good choice of cereals, toasts and juices to see you on your way at no extra charge - or a cooked breakfast delivered to your room at a reasonable price. The bed was comfortable, the television was large with lots of stations, the room came with a microwave - the only down in the room was the shower curtain, but it was very clean. Traffic noise wasn't as bad as we'd expected from the corner location next to a servo, so all in all a good night's sleeping place.

Room Tip: Best nearer the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

For 5 night I stayed at Corio Bay Motel and thought the place was fine for a cheapie. The owners were both helpful and friendly and the rooms were rather plain, but better then I expected for the price. Add in Foxtel and good WIFI (free) and this one adds up to a pretty good deal. The only downside is a bit of street noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scottyrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah J, Manager at Corio Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hi there,

We're glad to see that you had a pleasant stay here at Corio Bay Motel.
We hope to see you again.

Thank you.
Corio Bay Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corio
6.5 mi away
Parkside Motel Geelong
Parkside Motel Geelong
#5 of 5 in Belmont
82 reviews
3.9 mi away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#6 of 19 in Geelong
82 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sphinx
The Sphinx
#13 of 19 in Geelong
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#3 of 19 in Geelong
782 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hacienda Motel Geelong
Hacienda Motel Geelong
#2 of 5 in Belmont
64 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corio Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corio Bay Motel

Address: 292-296 Princes Hwy, Corio, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3214, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Corio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corio
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corio Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for comfortable, convenient, affordable accommodation look no further than the Corio Bay Motel. The Corio Bay Motel is conveniently situated on the Princes Highway, Corio, only minutes from the Geelong CBD, the Arena and only minutes from Avalon Airport. Corio Bay Motel is the closest Motel to the Avalon Terminal, Avalon Speedway, Beckley Park and Stead Park. Our 24 comfortable ensuite units offer: *Comfortable Queen or Twin Beds *R/C Air Cond. *Remote Flat Screen LCD TV *Alarm Clocks *Tea/Coffee *Toaster *Microwave *Serviced Daily *All Non Smoking Rooms *Off Street Parking *Guest Laundry *Complimentary Light Breakfast in The Dining Room Each Morning 7.30am and 9.30am. Corio Bay Motel now Dog Friendly (conditions apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Corio Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing