We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Port Huon Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Port Huon Cottages
St Georges Basin, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The cottage we stayed at was roomy, clean and comfortable. The bed bed was firm and just right. Wish there was a choice of pillows. With the room in the cottage, surely a couch could have been provided, would have made it even more comfortable. The views are beautiful.
Only drawback was the steps to get down to the cottage and then back up again. Not very dissabled or elderly friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lieselt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in a 1 br cottage and really enjoyed our time by using this place as a base. The views from the cottage over the water were lovely and it was very clean. The pillows were a little hard but ok. We had a couch so we were lucky! The basic cooking requirements were provided. We travelled to Bruny Island which is well worth the experience and did the Tahune airwalk too. Be sure to buy all of your food etc at Huonville before you arrive. There is a laundry on site.

Room Tip: They are all great as they all have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Booked a room for a romantic getaway. The room was clean however most definitely not designed as a romantic location. Instead of a 2 seater couch that would allow you to sit by each other, it had 2 separate chairs. Very impersonal. Heater was barely adequate.
Decided to take a lay down only to find the bed was like laying on a slab of concrete. Still the heater wasn't doing the job so we headed for the spa- the primary reason for booking at the location. Turning on the spa, we were greeted by orange rusty water. We decided to let the water run clear for 5 minutes- the water never ran clear and we most certainly weren't going to submerge ourselves in what can only be described as orange water. We were less than impressed and decided that we would rather spend the night in our own bed that an uncomfortable and freezing night there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Huon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed one night in Feb. 2011 & were impressed with the cleanliness & fitout although we did not cook.
Our unit was close to the car park so we did not have to carry our cases far & we were also well back from the main road so traffic noise did not bother us, but either of these situations could be a problem.
The view over the river was special.
We ate at the local hotel which provided basic but well prepard food.
All in all we enjoyed our stay & would book again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Get a cottage near reception to avoid carrying cases too far & also well back from the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed two nights in a one bedroom cottage. Cottage set up well and clean (though there was a slight odour in the bedroom). Bed was comfy for me (my partner didn't think so), I found the pillows hard...my partner didn't!

The kitchette, dining and 'lounge' are open plan. There really isn't a lounge..just two club chairs, they are comfortable though.

Each cottage has it's own BBQ, note for owners: it would be a lovely touch to keep salt, pepper, oil and possibly one or two condiments in each cottage (or may have available from reception)...buying these for a once off BBQ can be expensive and no one wants to take them in the car when continue travelling.

Plenty of cafes, hotels and the like close by if you choose not to use the kitchen facilities.

I am not sure the cottages are suitable for children, on a hillside, no play area, no pool etc..I think they would get bored unless a lot of things are brought with you. If you are out all day probably a different matter.

For the majority of the cottages you need to park either in a carpark or can park on street behind cottages (no passing traffic)...not an issue for us, not very far to walk at all to cottages.

Great to be able to sit on the deck and enjoy an evening wine while overlooking the water.

We didn't seem to have an issue with the traffic noise surprisinging, slept rather well.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

There were only two cons my partner and I found about this place. The noise from the traffic although we were aware of this before we stayed there and it was still a lot quiter than some 'country retreats' we stayed at. The only con was the parking. We had a front room and we had to park up the back on a slight 'hill.' Getting all of our bags was the car was a real pain however there is nowhere else for them to put a carpark so we do understand. Despite these two cons there were many things we liked about the cottage and we enjoyed our stay. Firstly the location is perfect. The views are just amazing looking at across a beautiful river with mountains and swans. The cottages were cosy and everything we needed was supplied. We found the kitchen to be extremely well stocked including Russell Hobbs appliances. There was a BBQ on the deck for guests to enjoy. I found that the cooktop worked with no issues at all. Cooking utensils that were supplied were more than adequate and clean. We found the fact that there were two TVs to be a nice touch especially at night when you're back in the room. There was a very well presented information booklet left in the room as well as a fan and heater. All in all my partner and I loved this place and would stop in again probably for longer next time. It is a great 'basecamp' to explore the Huon region.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EspressoTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay 3 nights in the Port Huon Cottages. When we arrived we were greeted by our hosts with two lovely smiles and a large breakfast hamper. In addition they treated us with champagne and chockies, we were immediately won over.
Our room was amazing, every need well catered for. Our cottage had a balcony over looking the water and there was a BBQ with table and chairs to enjoy. The cottages are situated centrally to many attractions which also really appealed to us. We also loved the fact that there was an internet cafe and pub just a stones throw away (and also the town of Geeveston was a 5min drive so you could easily purchase supplies)
There was a pier so we were able to catch a Tassie Cod one evening for dinner, what a treat! Over all we would highly rate our stay here and definately plan a return visit :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oddbotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Huon
0.7 mi away
Kermandie Hotel
Kermandie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Huon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
11.3 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
12.1 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tranquil Point
Tranquil Point
#5 of 5 in Cygnet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
#1 of 3 in Geeveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Huon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Huon Cottages

Property: The Port Huon Cottages
Address: 4396 Huon Hwy | Glendevie, Port Huon, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Huon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Port Huon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Port Huon Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively yours, Shanleys Huon Valley offers couples the luxury of privacy. This unique property, just an hour's drive South of Hobart, is purpose built for a romantic getaway. Beautifully crafted from hand-made mud bricks and celery top timbers, Shanleys Huon Valley enjoys panoramic views of Tasmania's picturesque Huon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Port Huon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing