We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caters to the Lake Crowd”

Pop's Southern Style BBQ
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Morehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Winchester, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Caters to the Lake Crowd”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pretty good pulled pork sandwiches. Location is really convenient for people visiting Cave Run Lake from points west of Morehead. I wouldn't say they make the best pulled pork sandwiches I've ever had (cause I make the best myself!) but it certainly hits the spot when you come off the lake and need to recharge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildkat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mediocre - would not return.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I swear I could smell the delicious smells emanating from the smoker outside of Pop's miles away from my hotel. However, the food did not live up to those smells. Restaurant atmosphere was a little overwhelming if you're not a hunter and into seeing stuffed animals and heads of animals all over the walls. I guess if you're eating meat at a bbq joint it's assumed that you're okay with seeing dead animals all around you but I didn't like it. Also, I don't eat pork or red meat so I was quite limited at this place as they didn't have chicken. Decided on smoked turkey. It did have a smokey flavor, however, something just didn't taste right. Also had beans and baked sweet potato. It was all mediocre - not impressed by anything but with such limited options in Morehead area you don't have many other choices. I figured Kentucky could do some good bbq but I was not impressed with this place. Would not go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, KY
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Eating Place”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pretty good place for BBQ. Best in the area and close to Cave Run Lake on KY 801. Very popular among locals and visitors to the lake.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldier, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here before going to cave run lake. It is just a small restaurant with limited seating but they had the best pulled pork sandwich I have ever tasted. You have a choice between two types of BBQ sauce and both are good. I personally liked the sweeter one the most. Their French fries were perfect and the ranch on their salads was delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great prices, even better food :)”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Best pulled pork sandwich ever! They slow cook their meats right there and the homemade BBQ sauce is the best! (The sweet is my favorite). French fries are delicious and the value is awesome. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pop's Southern Style BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Pop's Southern Style BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing