We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn birthday celebration”
Review of Holly Hill Inn

Holly Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Midway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh, seasonal ingredients from local farmers are at the heart of Chef Ouita Michel's menus at Holly Hill Inn, a fine-dining restaurant in America's Bluegrass horse country and near the Bourbon Trail.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Autumn birthday celebration”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose Holly Hill Inn for the beautiful fall drive from Lexington. The service was excellent with our needs anticipated. It is a 3 course fixed price meal. I chose the squash bisque soup which was seasoned and presented with flair. For my entree I had the flounder encrusted with pistachios and sauce piperade served with chestnut dumplings and leeks vinaigrette . The food arrived hot and the presentation was appealing. For dessert I chose the pumpkin Panna cotta. The best I have ever tasted! Creamy with caramelized pecans on top! It was a light dessert so I was able to enjoy it without feeling uncomfortable. Very nice dining experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixielovejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    28
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made Life Event Special”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am from Pennsylvania and getting engaged in Kentucky. I wanted the place to be a surprise so I choose from a list of best place to eat in Kentucky. Expectations were high but I can say that the Holly Hill Inn exceeded expectations. The staff were wonderful. The service was excellent. The food was oustanding. The restaurant itself has a great ambiance. We were touched by the dessert plate which came with Congratulations written in chocolate around the plate. We were also given a card that was signed by all the staff working that evening. We both had a fabulous time. Renee stated it could not have been more perfect. Thank you Holly Hill Inn for pushing a big night right over the top. I could not be more appreciative!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, TN
Level Contributor
314 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Fare”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our Home Owners Association planned a weekend trip to Lexington, KY to take in several sites. The day we arrived, we had a pre-ordered lunch at Holly Hill. We were given three choices for our entrees (chicken dish, pork, or fried trout). Our salad was the same for everyone (pears with spinach, blue cheese and walnuts) and dessert was a Kentucky Bread Pudding. All the food was very tasty and the service was very attentive. The building is an old house and worth going to next time you're in the Lexington, KY area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLiebbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“on the bourbon trail”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Make this a stop for sure! Great food and service in a lovely old home. This is a little off the beaten path, but the food was so worth it! Not too far from Lexington and there are some other restaurants in their local chain that will be worth a visit!! Tried lunch at Wallace Station!! A beautiful drive to this lovely restaurant in Midway! Will make this a repeat!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onabeachincabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My Top Pick. ”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I wish I could afford to eat here every day. It's an upscale place with the most unique atmosphere and food. This is our special occasion spot. It is hidden off the normal Midway beat and a little tough to find but well worth it. I have always had to have reservations.

Helpful?
Thank Philcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holly Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing