We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grub - Good Value”

Darlin Jean's Apple Cobbler Cafe
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Midway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Grub - Good Value”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Darlin Jean is Midways casual eating spot. Especially busy for lunch, I find myself going time and time again for my favorite salad - the Coconut Chicken Salad. It is one of my all time favorites and big enough to keep me full for hours. The menu is full of casual favorites from sandwiches to burgers and salads served in a friendly casual setting. Nothing on the menu is pricey, so enjoy the great value this local spot has to offer amongst its pricey and more formal neighbors.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant with country charm.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not far from Leestown Road or I64 in Midway, this quality restaurant was a nice change. I took my mother and daughter for Valentine's Day. Our waitress was very attentive, and took care of our few special requests in a professional manner.

My mother had a Reuben sandwich, and baked potato casserole. She ate every bit of it, which was a lot of food for her, and loved it.

My daughter had a hamburger with portabella mushrooms, and french fries. While she finished off her hamburger, and declared it good, it was more well-done than she usually orders. She was also not fond of the french fries, which were fried very crispy to the point that they seemed more of a shell that had the crunch of potato chips. They had a light coating of a garlic and cheese mixture. Personally, I liked them.

I choose the pork chops with a side salad, croissant, potato casserole, and apple cobbler. There was nothing left of my meal, either, although I did share the rather large side salad with my daughter. I absolutely loved the pork chops, which were grilled, a little sweet, and delicious. The potato casserole had a touch too much butter, but it was really good and I would have it again. There was a light honey glaze on the croissant, and it was also very good. I also enjoyed the apple cobbler. All in all, my whole meal was great, and a good value.

I noticed that a woman at the next table had a problem with part of her meal. The manager went out of his way to take care of the problem for her, and tried to make sure that she left happy. As a casual observer I was impressed with the customer service afforded to her.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alleyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Eat there often, the food is good. It isn't my favorite, but the service, price and food sections are all above average.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“I love Midway!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Midway is one of the most charming towns in Kentucky and I have never had a bad experience at any of the restaurants there. Darlin Jeans is no exception. I decided to have lunch there on the way to a business meeting and that was the best decision of the day. I had the coconut chicken salad and it was excellent. Take the short detour off I-64 and sample the goodies at Darlin Jeans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fantifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

To me, the test of a good restaurant is if their food is consistently good, and this restaurant does just that. Each time I have been there the food has been fantastic, friendly wait staff, with clean facilities. Their patty melt will take you back to your childhood, before fat calories and cholesterol, the fries are excellent, and the hot browns are fantastic. Every time I'm in the Lexington area I make the trip out to this restaurant because I know I'll be happy with my choice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cricketkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darlin Jean's Apple Cobbler Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Darlin Jean's Apple Cobbler Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing