We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another number one ranking visited on a trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desha's Restaurant and Bar

Desha's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Maysville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 606-564-7047
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
310 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Another number one ranking visited on a trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We were driving through late one evening and enjoyed excellent food. The waiter asked odd questions about what hotel we were staying at and wouldn't stop standing by our table to talk. It was a bit cold but the food was well prepared and delicious

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zomzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kentucky Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice upscale/casual restaurant. House specialties included "Hot Brown" , Not typically found on your average restaurant menu. Great, unique meal and at a good price. Friendly southern service, y'all

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zburger1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our "staycation" this year gave way to a very unexpected delight as we traveled just across the Ohio River to Maysville, KY.

Destination for a long-awaited lunch this day - DeSha's.

We had no pre-planning to eat at DeSha's since we had visited the Amish area in West Union. We were far enough south that a quick search on our smartphone for restaurants included this great eatery.

We each enjoyed the New England Clam Chowder for a starter. This was flavorful, creamy and had plenty of clam bits along with the potatoes.

Mister ordered the two-piece fish and chips - he found the fish perfectly moist inside with a nice crispy coating; and the fries were nice and hot, crispy too. Freshly made cole slaw with its sweet dressing complemented the meal.

I ordered the clam platter which included cole slaw and fries. The clams were okay - perhaps a tad nondescript and again the fries crispy.

Since this was a push-the-boat-out day we went for dessert. Mister enjoyed a big slice of coconut raspberry white layer cake (warm and unbelievably scrumptious) - I went for the lemon cheese cake with graham cracker crust (equally scrumptious).

We rarely travel this area, but if we found ourselves in the vicinity again - we would give it a second visit.

Overall - very pleasant atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoodlebugRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“deSha Na Na”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had not one, but two birthdays to celebrate, since my niece and nephew are twins, and it had to be in Maysville since it is half way between where they go to school and where the rest of the family lives. None of us had ever been to the restaurant before, but it proved to be a hit with everyone. We ranged in age from 3 to 64, and it's always a challenge finding a menu that fits each of our individuals tastes, but deSha's menu met that challenge. And since we phoned ahead for reservations, we actually got a table in a room all to ourselves. All it all, it was a happy family event, and the hot fudge ice cream cake, served gratis to the twins, ensured we all left with a smile on our faces!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Southern Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is one of the only places I know to get fried green tomatoes, and they are delicious with a tangy sauce. I also love their coconut chicken with honey mustard. My husband gets chili with cornbread, which is also tasty. The atmosphere is usually quiet and relaxed and they have a nice dessert menu.

Their diet soda tends to be flat. I always order sweet tea.

It's easy to find, just off the AA highway, on the same road as several other restaurants like Arby's, Lee's Chicken, and Pizza Hut.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yobei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desha's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
 

Been to Desha's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing