We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning food and excellent service”

Mint Leaf Pan Asian Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The unique flavours created at the Mint Leaf are nothing short of giving you a tantalising experience to be relished and remembered. We use locally sourced produce combined with some of the finest most exotic ingredients from around the world. The team at Mint Leaf have created an indulgent menu, to not only satisfy the avid curry goer. Our Chefs have taken the classic Indian menu and fused it with familiar flavours of the West with rich flavours from the East creating a memorable Pan Asian experience.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning food and excellent service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Like Indian food, with quality ingredients, proper cooking and superb service-then visit the Mint Leaf-we've never found any indian restaurant that can beat the flavours on offer here. The menu prices are perhaps a tad higher than you'd find generally in the local area, but the food quality MORE than makes up for this-the naans are soft and freshly cooked, and the meat quality is superb. WE LOVE IT. For a real bargain visit Tuesdays-2 for 1, or Sundays-the buffet is really amazing-they cook it fresh and bring it out-it's not sitting on the side in heated trays. Nothing is too much trouble, and the buffet allows you to try without risk and at a bargain price, meals you might not risk were you ordering a la carte. The bombay potato this Sunday was amazing and i could have just eaten a bowl on its own!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    44
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We eat here from time to time on the Sunday buffets. The system has changed to a "buffet" where the staff bring a selection of food to you and leave it at your table. If you want more you simply ask and it is brought to you fresh from the kitchen. The disadvantage being that you can feel awkward asking for more where that wouldn't be an issue with a true buffet. We like the food here and despite preferring traditional buffet set up we will continue to return as we like the food. Strangely, whenever we've been there on a Sunday we've only ever seen one other table occupied which is a tad quiet. The food is good though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Va.
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Roadside Indian Restuarant”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've eaten here a number of times and hav thoroughly enjoyed every visit. Conveniently.
, located at the junctions of the A17, A46 and the A1 just outside of Newark-on-Trent, Notts, it's easy to find and easy to continue your journey if traveling.
The service is fantastic, caring, attentive and the wait staff are very knowledgable about the extensive menu and can describe dishes for the un- initiated in Indian cuisine. The room is beautifully decorated and comfortable.
We dined with another couple and all four of us were pleased with our choices. We ordered a selection of dishes and shared. Everyone was pleased.
Would highly recommend this restuarant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bermudaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service, very good food if a little expensive”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First time we've eaten here and these days I find it difficult to find a good curry that's not a bowl of grease served in tired un clean environments. I'm pleased to say the mint leaf was nothing like that! it was very clean, fresh and excellently presented food served in a very professional and friendly environment. Just a shame the edge was taken off with prices.......... :-( about 20% over the top in my opinion! However we will go back and I'm fussy! Just not too often because of the cost! Try it, the Mint Leaf is worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paullongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“happy new year”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We used to be more-or-less regulars at the Mint Leaf under the previous management, before the quality started to suffer although the prices didn't. It was only recently that we heard it was under new management and so gave it a whirl on new year's eve.
OK, so first, let's get the basics out of the way: it's not cheap, it's not a 'curry house'. Two adults and two kids were £80 - mind you, we did have two bottles of the very nice house white Sauvignon Blanc. No starters though. It's not a cheap joint. We had poppadoms, then the kids shared a chicken Malaya, I had a special of lamb cooked with pickles and Kerry had a dish of lamb cooked with yoghurt and mint. Two pilau rice, one naan, side dishes of chick peas and aubergines. Two cokes and the wine I believe I've already mentioned.
My curry, I have to say, was just about the nicest I've ever had. Quite dry and garnished with sliced garlic (I thought it was almond when they brought it out). Not spicy hot, not really, but with a really big flavour. It was lovely and I'd have had another helping. The kids enjoyed their very mild dish. One thing about this place - we were fairly early, but it was quite busy, and all of the other tables had kids. Why can't they have a kid's menu? Child size portions? Would be easier than getting the kids to agree to share an adult menu.
Anyway, we had a nice time. Lovely meal. It's very high quality food and service. I remember when it was a Little Chef and it's fair to say it's better these days.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Leaf Pan Asian Cuisine also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Mint Leaf Pan Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing