We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Sunday lunch carvery.”

The Hop Pole Inn Nettlestead
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Sunday lunch carvery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Last Sunday we decided to look up recommended pubs to have lunch and decided to try The Hop Pole Inn At Nettlestead. We arrived promptly at 12 noon and were greeted warmly by one of the proprietors who is also the chef. He explained what was on offer from the carvery and invited us to sit at any vacant table.
The friendly atmosphere was typical of tradition village pubs of years gone by and the staff were attentive and extremely helpful.
The quality and choice of food was particularly impressive. We have rarely tasted pork or beef so perfectly cooked. The flavour of the vegetables tasted as if they had just been gathered from the garden.
All in all this was a very pleasant experience and worth every penny of a very reasonable price.
The Hop Pole Inn will definitely be included in our list of favourite places to eat in Kent.

B. Taylor

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Peckham, United Kingdom
1 review
“We was once regulars before moving out of the area 3 years ago bring back young Byron”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

NOT THE SAME,

Previously our experience from the moment we walked in the moment our car door shut again was unfaultable. we where always made aware some one would be with us and acknowledged.
the food was always amazing and attentive. Byron delivered an atmosphere and environment that made all welcome. His standards where also 5 star. we were disappointed when we was delivered the complete opposite then to realise he no longer owned it. Such a shame why do the best pubs always end up shocking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty H, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn Nettlestead, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Sorry that you were unhappy. We pride ourself on our friendly and welcoming staff. Pubs change hands regularly so can't be expected to stay the same. I wish you could have spoken to management about your issues as I'm not sure what the problems were. I was on site and have spoken to all my staff and we were unaware of any issues. All our customers left very satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An evening to remember (unfortunately)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Three of us arrived at The Hop Pole at 7pm on Saturday, and were shown into a large, light, airy conservatory. We were the first diners there, and as it transpired the only diners, as no-one else came in at all.
After receiving our ordered drinks, we were informed that the mussels and sea bass were unavailable. As we had all intended to have mussels for starters, and also one sea bass for main course, this was disappointing to say the least. (Why no mussels or sea bass? "We ran out yesterday, and the manager didn't order any more". And there were we, thinking that we were in a restaurant!).
Two 'replacement' prawn cocktail starters were reasonably good, (but even I, who went without a starter, would have had a job to mess up that particular dish.)
My gammon steak was good, but the trimmings let it down greatly. (the mushrooms and tomato were OK, but I would have expected perhaps peas and the choice of an egg instead of the pineapple ring). The chips however were very sad, limp and pale, and appeared to have been cooked a long, long time ago and kept warm.
My wife's vegetables, taken from the carvery table, also had the same quality, and gave the impression that they had been standing there in their dishes under the heaters since lunch. They were almost cold and virtually tasteless, and the 'roast potatoes' were tepid, grey-fleshed, dry and leathery -- never seen anything like them before!
Our companion's freshly cooked, hot vegetables were generally under-cooked and hard, but conversely the mashed potato was nasty and quite 'runny', although his lamb shank was reasonably good. There was also no French mustard available for him.
Bread and butter pudding dessert was also satisfactory, but the lemon and lime cheesecake was like no cheesecake we had ever seen before, and was again very disappointing (it was also unfortunately covered in cooked black currants, which I abhor). The best I can liken it to is a large slice of damp sponge-cake, with a slight lemony flavour.
Apart from the (serious) problems with the food, the presentation was generally very ordinary to say the least.
"Can I get you tea, coffee or anything else?" Is usually asked by the waitress a discrete while after the desserts are finished. But our waitress never returned, and after a lengthy wait we finally had to go round to the bar to find her and ask for the bill.

There was absolutely NO atmosphere to the place (being the only three diners seated in a large conservatory this was perhaps not surprising). The waitress appeared to be far more concerned about being in the bar, with a large party of football supporters watching television than attending to us.
The cutlery supply was poor (starters and main courses were eaten with the same knife and fork, and I had to eat my cheesecake with a soup spoon).

Overall this was a very, very poor dining experience, the worst that any of us has ever experienced, and we left feeling that the staff were not in the least bit interesed in us, and were putting all their energies into the beer-swilling customers in the football-dominated bar.
It would in retrospect have been considerably better all round if, on our arrival they had said that they were 'not serving food tonight' -- it would have saved them the inconvenience of trying to run a so-called restaurant, and saved us nearly £70
Were we unfortunate and just picked a bad night? Possibly yes, but we are certainly never going back to give it another try.
If you wish to give The Hop Pole a go, dear reader, it is your choice.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty H, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn Nettlestead, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience. We had simply run out of your chosen dishes due to their popularity. With regards to your accompaniments, we are happy to accommodate any customers wishes, you only need ask. We pride ourselves on our fresh produce and are disappointed that you were not happy. We had other diners during the evening but they were seated in our snug area near the bar. We are sorry that you didn't ask to speak to man agent at the time, perhaps we could have helped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowborough
Level Contributor
108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“kent countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

tucked near nettlestead village on the main road you will find the hop pole very ordinary as you approach but once inside a warm welcome is given. The food menu is comprehensive and the carvery on wednesday lunchtime at a special price for pensioners is wonderfull, fresh vegetables are fresh not left standing, the meats look inviting and well presented. Strangely not full but worth a visit and a change from chain pubs. staff are pleasant and food is in house.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best roast around ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Have been to the carvery many times, the last being mothers day! The food is always amazing! All home cooked, fresh and plenty of choice! Kirsty is lovely and Mark the landlord and chef does an amazing job!

Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hop Pole Inn Nettlestead also viewed

East Farleigh, Maidstone
 
Wateringbury, Kent
 

Been to The Hop Pole Inn Nettlestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing