We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a State Park, very average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barren River Lake State Resort Park
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's a State Park, very average.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place like most state run facilities is very dated, but if you want to get away from it all, including internet service, than this is the spot for you! I stayed in a cottage, it was clean, but smelled like an old house, if you have allergy issues with mold I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha B. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny S, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for selecting Barren River Lake State Resort Park on your travels and also for your feedback. We work hard to keep our facilities as clean and orderly as possible. we are currently scheduled for several upgrade projects here at the park over the next several months and internet for the villas and cottages are included. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will select Barren River Lake State Resort Park for your future travels through this area. Have a great day!!!


Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
38
21
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

Ready nice Resort just outside of Bowling Green, Ky. Golf, riding stables, marina and lots of playgrounds for the kids. Restaurant on site also which really makes it nice with fairly good food. The golf course is great and Green in the summer. Marina can help with all your on water needs.
Really beautiful area!

Stayed May 2017, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Banshee694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny S, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this review, May 19, 2017
Thank you so much for selecting Barren River Lake State Resort Park for your lodging and dining needs and also for your beautiful and kind words. We believe that its heaven here on earth at our park and are so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope that you will stay with us again on your future travels to this area. Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2017

My husband and I just wanted to stay at a Kentucky park; we had been to several over the years, but never Barren River Lake Resort, so here we went with our ShiTzu! We stayed in the Lodge; reasonable space, good bed, very nice towels, etc. TV, okay. Ate in the lodge breakfast and dinner. Buffett style but you could order from the menu. If a person is eating from the buffett, go early so the food has not stayed on the buffett a long time. It was Mother's Day weekend, so the grounds should have been mowed! Needs updating!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Otherwise, you will be looking at the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glorious2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny S, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for selecting Barren River Lake State Resort Park on your travels through this area. I also want to thank you for taking the time to offer your comments and insight. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room, bed, linens and the food. We hope that you will stay with us once again on your way through this area. Have a great day!!!


Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2017

A family of 6, we stayed in the "Cottages". They were clean and roomy. Not the most up to date furnishings, but there was a full kitchen and plenty of room to spread out. We only stayed one night, but the for those staying longer this would be a great resort for the money.
The only small negatives were the mattresses were a bit soft and the Cottage check out time was relatively early at 10:00 AM.
The lodge itself was welcoming. We attended a wedding reception at the lodge's banquet room and thought it was a very nice place for that purpose.
This lodge is located in a very beautiful spot in South Central Kentucky.

  • Stayed May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny S, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words and for selecting Barren River Lake State Resort Park for your lodging needs. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you will select us once again when traveling through this area. Thank you and have a great day!!!


Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Very nice campsites kind of positioned on a peninsula surrounded by Barren River Lake. Most of the sites are strategically placed to have a lakefront view. Ours in fact was a slice of heaven. Literally a panoramic picture window to the lake and surrounding wooded areas. Bedroom/Bath buildings are large and accommodating. Showers are nice and set up the right way. Felt like no sacrifice from home . Amenities that you would expect from a descent facility as well. We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBreeze72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny S, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
Thank you so much for selecting Bailey's Point Campground area for your camping needs. We also want to thank you for your kind words. We agree that the area around Barren River Lake is some of the most beautiful land in Kentucky and we are excited that your stay was so enjoyable. We look forward to serving you and your family again when your in this area. Have a great day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, GA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2017

The room has a nice balcony overlooking a lake. There is a large Samsung flat screen T.V., but the local stations do not come in well, if at all. There is no microwave or refrigerator, but that is to be expected when there is a restaurant on the grounds. It has a bathtub with low sides for easy access. The bathtub is non-slip with grab bars. This is a very nice, quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMCKingsland_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny S, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this review, May 2, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and for selecting Barren River Lake State Resort Park for your lodging needs. While our park and lake offer some of the most beautiful sights in Kentucky, our staff also thrives to make sure each guest feels welcome and is enjoying their stay. We hope that you will come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2017

Someone parked their huge mobile home in our site, along with their trailer of ATV's and all their stuff...and then left for the day. Even if they had been there to move back to their site right next to our's, I would not have wanted to camp next to them.

Kimberly was wonderful, she drove my husband around to campground to find a site that he liked and then offered us a credit back which was very, very nice. She made us feel better about a crummy situation.

Still, she could not make up for the unlevel sites, the broken washing machines and dryers and the overflowing dumpsters. I felt bad for her, there is no way I would want her job.

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jancid2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny S, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2017
Thank you so much for selecting the Barren River Lake State Resort Park Campground for your camping needs. I apologize for the inconvenience that you and your family were caused. Please trust me, that we are correcting the problems that you mentioned and trying to ensure that they do not happen again in the future. I hope that you will give us another try when camping or lodging in this area. I will share the warm comments with Kimberly. She does indeed do a great job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucas
19.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
545 reviews
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Glasgow
83 reviews
16.0 mi away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
598 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
19.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cave City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barren River Lake State Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barren River Lake State Resort Park

Property: Barren River Lake State Resort Park
Address: 1149 State Park Rd, Lucas, KY 42156-9300
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barren River Lake State Resort Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort park is rolling hills,bordered by a 10,000 acre lake. Accomodation choices includes lodge room, cottage or villa. The lodge rooms are spacious and includes hair dryer, ironing board/iron and coffeemaker. The outstanding feature of this accomodation is the private balcony that offers peace and relaxtion. The Villas are two bedrooms with two beds per, two full baths, living room, dining/kitchen, screened room and deck w/grill. Vaulted ceiling and a gas fireplace add to the ambiance of this accomodation. The cottages are more rustic than the villas. Similar to the villas, they have two bedrooms, two full baths, living room, kitchen/dining room. Both the cottages and villas, are fully furnished including, bedding, terry, pots/pans, glassware, plates, flatware, coffeemaker,mircowave and full-sized refridgerator. Onsite hiking/walking/bike trail(s),golf, tennis, volleyball,shuffle board, campground, seasonal horseback riding and marina with boat rentals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barren River Lake State Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barren River Lake Resort Lodge And Cottages Hotel Bowling Green
Barren River State Park
Barren River Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing