We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth The Money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge

RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,748 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: RIVUE Restaurant and Lounge is locally owned and offers a fresh perspective on upscale dining, from 25 stories above the city. Our restaurant is the only one in the world with twin revolving floors, offering guests 360 degree views of downtown and the Ohio River. However, it's our outstanding menu and fresh ingredients that have made RIVUE a standout among Louisville restaurants. From our freshly-squeezed juices and lettuce grown at an agronomic farm to sustainably-sourced seafood, every bite is bursting with flavor. So stop by for a spin and discover Louisville's most memorable dining experience! RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge opened in June of 2007, and brought a new sophistication to Louisville dining, and continues to lead the culinary scene in the Derby city. RIVUE was ranked among the Top 5 Revolving Restaurants in the U.S.
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went with a party of 12 for a business function.

The not so good: Service was extremely slow. Staff was not very attentive. Filet was not cooked correctly. Fish was also under cooked. Wait staff did not seem too concerned. Had to ask for a manager to get the situation corrected. Had to ask for drink refills.

The Good: View from the revolving room was great. Crab Cakes on appetizer menu were good. Drinks good, but pricey (when you could get them)

Would not go back - our company has taken them off the list of restaruants that we will use.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    83
    38
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
159 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Resplendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had dinner at Rivue recently.We sat in the revolving section.The room revolves very slowly so all seats are good seats. They had live piano music,great service , great food.Our server Ajay was wonderful.I had Coq au Vin, my daughter had the lamb and my husband had Chilean sea bass. For dessert we had pommegrante mousse.The final touch was the colorful candy cart ,Ajay brought rolling around.Very nice uinque touch.Great night time views of the bustling city.I would recommend it.Dress nicely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Special Brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love the Sunday brunch at the Rivue restaurant in the Galt House Hotel. It is very special. They set it up elegantly and most of the waiters are excellent and attentive. Be sure to make a reservation, though, if you want a view in the revolving area. Some people were disappointed they weren't given a table in those sections. We enjoyed the views and the relaxing atmosphere. It was reasonably priced. The dessert bar is fabulous. I would say it is for adults only, unless you have well behaved children.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sista94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spin Me Right Around Baby, Right Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The views were magnificent. The food was excellent. I got the strip it was mouthwatering.

I would recommend this for a romantic date.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is our "special" occasion place, but should make it there more often as it is always consistently great in food and service. Our waiter, AJ, was extremely personable and knowledgable. We had an appetizer of crab cakes, the new york strip, coq au vin and a special fruit dessert. Excellent with great veggies and perfect seasoning. The fun candy cart is always a treat, I just need to venture away from the cashew brittle with white chocolate but it's too good!
Total bill with wine and after drink was $115 before tip. Revolving room and overlooking river at sunset always makes this a special place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sbeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing