We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what was expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Louisville East
Ranked #53 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
314 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“not what was expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The tp dispenser is positioned so you cant sit on the throne with comfort if you are 6ft tall. Whenever the people above us moved we could hear them. The elevators are in odd locations. The room was clean but when we moved the desk table out to have more space we found bottle cap and some foreign matter, the shears had holes in them. There was no fridge and the TV would vary in channel quality. Overall I was not impressed. The room did have some great qualities. It had a thermostat, nice furnishings, flat screen tv, and really comfortable beds and pillows.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    57
    27
    16
    4
See reviews for
45
31
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a typical courtyard but bottom line for one night with tax and no addons was $197
Shame on me for not being more thorough when checking prices. Not a bad place but my friend got a $40 room rate a few doors down. Oh my.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dribar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel was just average. Can't get excited about much of my stay except the front desk people... Very friendly and attentive. The lobby is one of the new courtyard formats, which was nicer than I expected. Lots of gathering spaces and appeared very flexible. Even the meeting room was nice. But... The rooms were just so so. The towels felt very thin/worn, and were not fluffy or soft. The shower curtain was too long for tub (which made me wonder how clean it was... I know I was stepping on it accidentally.) The sheets were fine, but comforters also felt thin. Also, the lock on the door was "wonky" -it stuck, jammed, was difficult to open. If you stay here, ask for a room not facing the interstate. Plenty of places to eat in area...very easy access to 64.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyRoger47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriot East on business and have to say that I believe this to be the Marriot with the lowest standards that I have experienced. I normally prefer to stay at Marriot hotels, but quite honestly wish that I had stayed elsewhere this time around.
I checked in believing that this was going to be a typical Marriot as the desk staff was friendly, courteous and processed my check-in quickly. The lobby is being renovated, so there is not much to look at when checking in, but this type of thing occurs periodically.
My room appeared to be nice and clean at first glance, and I felt that things were fine until I had an opportunity to spend time in the bathroom. Here is where things really started to go south for me. For starters, the towel bar was loose and it was apparent that maintenance was aware of the issue as they had attempted to fix it with a very large machine screw. Even with the large screw, the bar was still loose. Paint and drywall was flaking off of the wall and you could see evidence of mold on the wall just above the lip of the bathtub. You could also see rust on the anchors holding the shower rod in place. One other issue that I had is the table that fits under the desk was unbelievably wobbly. I was afraid that I was going to damage one or more of the table legs if I put any weight on it, so ended up sitting on the floor so that I could use the coffee table in the room. The love seat in the room had two different patterned cushions. I might have considered that they were meant to be done this way except that one cushion was decidedly larger than the other, so the effect of sitting on the love seat was less than comfortable.
Amenities listed include a free breakfast, but the actual charge is $10.43 for the breakfast buffet. As the hotel was being renovated, breakfast was served in one of the back rooms near the lobby. The business center consisted of a single computer and printer in a corner of the otherwise empty lobby area.
The hotel is near shopping and is relatively easy to access. There are a number of good restaurants located close to the hotel.
I don’t know when the renovations will be complete or whether they will include needed work on the rooms, but this hotel needs some work before I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cargotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
308 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I don't normally write review for hotels, especially a chain hotel like Courtyard, because I believe they all should meet certain standard. This one is different. The bed is smaller than normal, lower than normal, and very hard. I wake up in the middle of the night with a back pain. I can't believe Marriott allows their hotel to have such beds.

The service at the restaurant is not any better. I ordered toast for breakfast and the waiter brought me two piece of toasts without butter or jam.

We probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Chose this hotel for convenient access to local distributor I was visiting. Getting to it was a bit of a challenge coming from the airport as I had to do a U turn to get to it but once I figured that out, check-in was quick and easy.

Lobby was nice and people were friendly and helpful. Rooms and baths were a bit dated as compared to other Courtyards I've stayed in, which sets a bit of a high standard....but bed was comfortable, TV worked, and free access to internet was provided.

My room rate included breakfast which was cooked to order in the lobby restaurant and was good. Some budget rates do not include breakfast so be sure to decide which is more important to you. If visiting east side of Louisville this is a fairly good spot to stay, though I later found a Marriott Fairfield closer to our distributor. Marriott properties seldom disappoint so either will work in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjb4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Nice clean rooms, spacious and comfy. Beds are nice, bathroom is just ok.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Have stayed here many times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettipinkprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Drury Inn & Suites Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hyatt Place Louisville-East
Hyatt Place Louisville-East
#24 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#42 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
East Louisville
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
#48 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Louisville East

Property: Courtyard Louisville East
Address: 9608 Blairwood Road, Louisville, KY 40222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Hurstbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Louisville East 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated with on-site Bistro just minutes away from the infamous Churchill Downs, Kentucky International Convention Center and the Louisville Slugger Museum. Our room amenities feature beds with plush comforters, free wireless and wired internet, flat panel TV's with High-Definition, a desk and an ergonomic chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville East Hotel Louisville
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing